Pantry Inventory

Welcome to my pantry. This is the left side:

And this is the right side:

When we first saw our house, I totally fell in love with the large, open kitchen. And when I opened a door to find a massive pantry, it totally sealed the deal. As I mentioned in my last post, now that I’m a little more aware of my snacking habits, I have noticed just how much food is in our pantry. Seriously- we have enough dry goods to make meals for months!

There are a few things that you might notice in the photos. In the first photo, you will see my husband’s collection of “pre” and “post” workout fuel. He is very serious about this stuff. And he lives at the Vitamin Shoppe. I have my own protein powders up there too, but mine are vegetable-based while his are mostly Whey. We also have WAY too many water bottles- and this isn’t even all of them.

And on that same side, we also have a lot of tea…..

I have a slight loyalty to Celestial Seasonings. 🙂 I also can’t really figure out a way to nicely organize all of these boxes!

On the right side, the top shelf is designated for dog stuff. Right below that are a million mason jars filled with various grains, legumes and other stuff.

I buy these things in bulk because it is way cheaper that way! I also have a bunch of cans of pumpkin on hand at all times because I use it for everything….

I decided to make a list of things that are in the pantry.

13 different types of grains!?

Since I am not made of money and spend much more on groceries than I would care to share, I’m taking a new approach to budgeting for food: I’m going to start cooking based on what we have on hand! Of course, I still need to visit the grocery store often to purchase perishable items, including the massive amount of vegetables and fruit we consume. This idea lends well to the fact that I also want to start making a lot more meatless dinners.

I spent a while looking through this awesome cookbook and have bookmarked almost every single page so far!

I’ve already come up with a dinner plan for the week that I am stoked about!

But for now- I’ve gotta go. There’s a major battle going on in our house today. I’m very excited to re-cap it for you all tomorrow!

Do you “hoard” food (or buy in bulk)? If so, what types of things do you buy?

10 Comments on “Pantry Inventory”

  1. Lee says:

    I definitely have a grain hoarding problem too. I think right now I have bulgur, couscous, quinoa, millet, oats and rice. Probably more than I’m forgetting about.

  2. Gil says:

    I also fell in love with my current house because of the kitchen (its so important, right?) Especially because (after cramped apartments) I feel like I have buku cabinet space so I can keep everything organized and in sight and I know what I’ve got…there’s something about “discovering” things in the back of my freezer/pantry that terrifies me.

    Im rooting for your side of the battle, both food and football!!

  3. I used to be a can hoarder until I moved into my current apartment and don’t have a pantry. So I donated a ton of stuff to my apartments food drive!

    I love Veganomicon!

  4. Erin says:

    What size are your mason jars? I’ve been looking for glass containers to do the same thing but have been so cheap, mason jars are totally the economical way to go.

    • Lauren says:

      I think they’re 32 oz…? They are awesome for storing stuff! And super cheap! Make sure you get the “Wide mouth” ones though- they are much easier to fill!

  5. It’s great seeing your pantry. Love the mason jars.

  6. In my cupboard in the kitchen I don’t have a ton of snack foods. But in my garage I store whole wheat kernals, black beans, pasta and foods that will last a long time.

  7. Michelle says:

    This is actually how I do most of my meal planning. . . . .by what’s already in my pantry/freezer/fridge. I pick one or two items that I have on hand to use (maybe because they need to be used up or because I’ve had them a long time) and then Google “recipe + ingredient #1 + ingredient #2” and viola. . . .dinner! Ha! Okay, so I don’t pick the first recipe to come up, but I think you get the idea.


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

