Snobby Joe

Hey all- just wanted to stop in and say that posts may be a bit sporadic this week. Work is crazy, because we just started a new semester. And with that semester change, we get all new students and get to start ALL over again. I spend months training my kids to be perfect little robots and just when they get to where I want them to be, they’re gone. It’s a huge headache and I hate it and just wish the classes were year-round, but it is what it is.

Maybe I should look at it with a positive attitude and just say “Yay! It’s a fresh start!”

๐Ÿ™‚

Things are a little stressful- but not really in a bad way. I’m kind of in super-procutive mode, which is good. It also gives me extra steam to burn out at the gym and makes those after work workouts much better.

I don’t have a whole lot to share, because work has been my life for the past few days. And when I finally get to sit down at the end of the night, I watch a little tv before passing out.

I woke up at 4:24 this morning (6 minutes before my alarm was to go off) and headed to the gym do some some hardcore rowing before teaching spin class. Somehow, I’m still completely awake and full of energy! This is very strange… I usually crash by 10 am on days that I teach early morning spin. I’ll go with it though- I definitely need the energy!

One thing I wanted to share was this AWESOME recipe that I made for dinner the other night from Veganomicon for Snobby Joes.

Greg’s plate (hoagie roll):

My plate (open faced, on a piece of multigrain toast):

I served ’em alongside some Warm Red Cabbage Slaw and whipped cauliflower and herbs from the Vitamix (with a little pat of Kerrygold butter).

The snobby joes tasted incredible- I really can’t even describe how good they are. They taste like a “sloppy joe,” but a million times better. And if you love lentils like I do- you will LOVE this. I followed the recipe exactly (but cut it in half). I had some leftover for lunch the next day, and they tasted even better than they did the first night, which I truly didn’t think was possible. I have to make these in bulk just so I can reheat them for lunch every day.

See ya soon!

Do you go through crazy busy periods at work during certain times of the year? How do you handle the extra stress?

14 Comments on “Snobby Joe”

  1. Dang girl, you wake up EARLY! That is totally impressive!!

    • Lauren says:

      It sucks. I only wake up that early when I get paid to. ๐Ÿ™‚
      My husband, on the other hand, wakes up that early EVERY morning to hit the gym. He’s done it for 3 years solid now- he impresses the heck out of me!

  2. Jenny says:

    I crave sloppy joes! If I can find tomato paste, I’m making this tonight!

  3. Melanie says:

    So, would you mind sharing how you whip the cauliflower in the Vitamix??!! I just recently purchased one and this looks like something I would definitely like. I assume you steam first, but I’m curious what type of liquid if any you add?? Looks fantastic and I so love my Vitamix especially when I see all the different ideas my favorite bloggers have using them!

    • Lauren says:

      I actually used frozen cauliflower that I defrosted. You could definitely steam fresh cauliflower, but I’d cut it up into small bits. I added just a TINY bit of vegetable broth and milk. I added a bit more than I wanted- I would start with a tablespoon for about 2 cups of steamed cauliflower and then add more if needed. Really, with a vitamix, you might not need any liquid! I also added garlic, parsley and salt. It was awesome!

  4. Lee says:

    4:24?? That is insane to me. I get up 3 hours later than you do! Of course, I probably get off work 3 hours later too.

    • Lauren says:

      On days that I work out in the afternoon, I don’t wake up until 530ish. I get to work by 7, but I also get home a little after 3. That is awesome and worth waking up early for. And, the gym is not packed at all at 3:00. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Liz says:

    I have a friend who is a teacher and says she can’t work out before work because it is too early (and is too tired after work). I have to send her your blog! That’s so inspiring!
    Also, thanks for linking the recipe. Looks delicious.

    • Lauren says:

      It is freaking early to work out before, but it’s nice to have it done and be able to do nothing after work but sit on your butt. I like working out afterwards though,I usually have stress to burn off. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Corrie Anne says:

    Oh my word. I love the snobby joes. I totally pinned that recipe!! And that’s the worst part about teaching. Haha. Even if you get the same kids back after Christmas… lol. But teaching is the best! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Lauren says:

      The semester one kids were back for three weeks after Christmas, which was dumb.
      You have to let me know if you make the snobby joes (or put it on your blog so I can we!). They are sooooooo gooooooood.

  7. Oh, I bet those are delicious. You always seem to make the best, well rounded meals even though you work full time. Many use it as an excuse not to and I wish they would read your blog and see all of your healthy food.

    • Lauren says:

      Aw, thanks! I make healthy cooking a priority and I make time for it. Through the years, I have really learned to make each hour of the day count. Having one bad or unhealthy meal is a real bummer for me, so I take the time to cook good stuff for me and my husband every day. ๐Ÿ™‚


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

