When Greg cooks dinner

If you read this blog, you know I like a colorful plate of food. Last night’s dinner made me very happy. 🙂

Most nights of the week, I’m in charge of cooking dinner. This is for a few reasons:

#1: I’m a control freak. And, I generally like to cook. But, I like things done a certain way and have my methods. If I’m not the one cooking dinner, it’s best if I stay out of the kitchen.

#2: I get off work earlier than Greg does

#3: I like to cook healthy, low-calorie/low-fat (but flavor-FULL) meals and pay attention to how the calories stack up. My husband is naturally thin and has never had to pay attention to calorie content in his life, so he just doesn’t think about those things. He could literally eat 10,000 calories a day and not gain a single pound. In fact, he’d probably lose weight.

#4: I love him dearly, but my husband is just not that creative in the kitchen. He also follows recipes to the letter, whereas I like to make healthy subsitutions.

There are definitely nights when making dinner is the last thing that I want to do. On those occasions, it’s nice that Greg steps up to the plate. Last night was one of those nights- and I have to say- I was pretty impressed with what Greg made.

Typically, if Greg cooks dinner for the two of us, it’s one of three things: hamburgers, salmon or kebabs. There’s also a fourth option, white wine chicken, which is what he made last night.

(If he’s just making dinner for himself, he makes pasta. Always pasta.)

We have made this dish at least a dozen times, and have several variations of it. It’s actually best with marsala wine, but we don’t usually have that on hand.

It makes me happy to see a board with veggies that someone else cut up. 🙂

The master chef at work:

He used this wine, which was purchased from our visit to Charlottesville in October:

‘Twas delicious-with the chicken and by the glass!

**

White Wine Chicken (serves 2)

2 boneless chicken breasts, cut into 1″ cubes

1 T extra-virgin olive oil

1/2 medium yellow onion, cut into thin strips (or whatever kind of onion you have on hand)

1 clove garlic, finely chopped

small handful of fresh sage, rosemary + thyme, chopped

6 crimini mushrooms, chopped into thin pieces

chicken stock (about 1/8-1/4 c.)

1/4 c white wine (we have used all varieties from Chardonnay to Pinot Gris to Sauvignon Blanc- Marsala wine is great, too!)

1/2 T butter

pinch of flour or cornstarch to thicken (if needed)

salt + pepper to taste

Place a skillet over medium heat on the stovetop. Add the olive oil, followed by the chicken, fresh herbs, salt and pepper and stir well. Add onions and garlic and stir well again. Allow chicken to cook through for a minute or so, and add the wine and chicken stock. Let cook for an additional 3-4 minutes, stirring often. Add in the mushrooms and butter and stir well. Cook for an additional 2-3 minutes, or until mushrooms are cooked through. If sauce is too thin, add a little cornstarch or flour and stir well.

We ate in the kitchen so we could watch the latest episode of Top Chef on DVR.

We also added in some kale with the mushrooms to the recipe listed above, which was an awesome addition! Greg’s not a fan of sun-dried tomatoes, but I AM, so I added some to my plate. I had some leftover farro, a tiny little sweet potato and a load of baked kale. Greg had jasmine rice and kale.

Get in my belly!

Right after we finished eating, this little guy popped up from under our feet to say hello:

The only downside of Greg cooking dinner? It meant that I was in charge of cleaning up. That’s the rule!

**

One more thing: Annette tagged me in a survey on her blog, so I said that I would answer the questions on here. Who doesn’t love a little survey?

  1. What do you like on your toast? Almond butter, sliced banana and honey. OR a runny egg.
  2. Which country do you want to visit next? I don’t think I could choose just one. Spain, Italy, Ireland, Greece… anywhere not in North America!
  3. How do you squeeze in yoga and/or stretching into your workout routine? I force myself to stretch after workouts, and it’s easy when I’m teaching a class (because it’s mandatory). I do yoga 2-3 times a week, generally from Bob Harper’s Yoga for the Warrior DVD. I never get sick of it and LOVE IT.
  4. Who is your favorite athlete to watch/follow? I’m a die-hard Kevin Youkilis lover. GO SOX.
  5. What is the last meal and dessert you would request? Pizza and beer, followed by fruit cobbler with vanilla ice cream.
  6. What vacation has been your favorite so far and why? Any trip to Colorado that Greg and I have taken over the last 3 years, because we are so obsessed with being out there (and need to hurry up and move, damnit). OR, our honeymoon, which was 2 weeks in the Pacific NW (Oregon, Washington + BC)
  7. What workout did you do today/going to do today? I’m actually planning on breaking out a strength training DVD that I haven’t done in forever and will surely kill me. That will probably be combined with a little ride on my spin bike.
  8. Which one makeup tool MUST you have (i.e. mascara, lip gloss, etc.)? Facial moisturizer and eye make-up. I look so tired without eye make-up on.
  9. What do you never leave the house without?A bottle of water.
  10. Which book have you read lately that you would recommend to someone else? Mindy Kaling’s Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?. I lent it to my friend Sara after I read it. (I only like to read non-fiction books)
  11. What’s something embarrassing that has happened to you? Um, where do I begin? I had an entire drawer full of office supplies fall on the floor today while teaching my 4th period class…

That was fun!

**

Who cooks dinner in your house? Do you have a rule about one person cooking/the other cleaning up? Does your spouse understand healthy cooking? 🙂

4 Comments on “When Greg cooks dinner”

  1. Awww glad you had fun answering the questions 🙂

    My hubby is like yours–he eats whatever and is fine. He is happy to eat my cooking, but I’d be afraid to leave the cooking to him. Bless him. hah

  2. Lee says:

    I love seeing your dog pictures. I think you should post more of them! Is that Lance or Jackson?

    Jason will try to cook healthy (when he’s cooking for me) but he always ends up adding a ton of extra oil to everything. Hence the reason I do most of the cooking. That said, his oily food often tastes better!

  3. Kaitlyn @ Pain Can Be Fun says:

    My boyfriend is the cook in our home…he LOVES it more than I do…however I made a new years resolution to cook dinner for him at least once a week. I think he appreciates it, and is forgiving because I’m slowly learning the ins and outs of cooking. But we do have a rule…whoever cooks doesn’t have to clean 🙂

  4. Tiffany says:

    Damn Greg! That meal looks awesome, if you need to get rid of leftovers feel free to overnight me some–thanks 🙂

    My weekends are when I cook my more indulgent foods since I tend to be a stickler about tracking my food during the week. My roommate cooked dinner twice this past week and it was wonderful walking into the house and not having to worry about making something after a long day. Like you, I love to cook but sometimes it just nice to know someone else is taking care of it.


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

