Power cake & Food-and-Booze-Weekend Prep

Last night I discovered this blog and came across a recipe for a Power Pumpkin Roll. I’m pretty sure that I went to sleep dreaming about it. πŸ™‚

After a nice sweat session on the spin bike this morning, I whipped this bad boy up:

You can check back on the link above for the recipe and steps, but I’ll show you some photos of the process.

Mix chia vanilla frosting ingredients together (I didn’t have much Greek yogurt, so I added a little cottage cheese + a little pumpkin puree)

Spread dough on cookie sheet and bake

Take dough out of oven and flip over onto a towel coated with cinnamon (I used pumpkin pie spice and a paper towel)

Spread frosting

Roll up (it was like rolling sushi!)

Cut up and devour.

Yup. I ate the whole thing. Well, Greg had one slice. It’s less than 400 calories, has a ton of protein, and kept me full until I had lunch 5 hours later.

This was good- I’d like to play around with it a bit more. I’d probably nix the protein powder in the cake (or use a different flavor- the Vega brand I used it great, but has a very strong flavor) or replace it with peanut flour. I’d probably also use a little less xanthan gum. And for the filling, I’d probably try cottage cheese or toffuti next time and might nix the chia seeds. I’m definitely happy to experiment with this again- I think the recipe is genius! You should try it too!

**

Both tonight and tomorrow night are devoted to two things: food and beer. We are going over to a friends house for a beer pairing dinner (that has been two years in the making…) tonight and then having some friends over for the Superbowl tomorrow night.

Here’s a few scenes from what’s been going on in my house this afternoon:

(More details on those photos tomorrow… tonight’s menu includes some fabulous blogger inspirations and some new things, too.)

There was some egg-less salad for lunch:

And dogs running around with an empty dog food bag…

And all the while, this was going on outside:

I kind of wish the snow would stop and then start up again tomorrow night so that there’s a school delay on Monday… one can dream, right?

Off to consume far too much food and beer!

How’s your Saturday? Any fun weekend plans?

11 Comments on “Power cake & Food-and-Booze-Weekend Prep”

  1. Lee says:

    It’s snowing there? It’s 65 degrees here! (That is not normal, even for GA, we are usually in the 40s in the winter.)

    I need to make that pumpkin roll. Looks delicious.

    • Lauren says:

      It was coming down really fast, but not sticking. But, it’s been super warm all week here- the weather is totally bi-polar this winter. We haven’t had a “real” snow yet.
      Make the roll- do it!

  2. lindsay says:

    burr!! stay warm. that weekend sounds fantastic! we’ve been so out of the football loop since being in New Zealand the past few months. Its like it doesn’t exist here, haha. Not a problem for me. hehe.

    ps.
    loved the guest post on JG’s blog!

  3. Corrie Anne says:

    That pumpkin roll looks awesome. I’ve had the non-healthy version… but this looks amazing. And only 400 cal? That’s pretty impressive! Plus I just love the idea of a power cake!! Haha. I’ve been cranking out some snacks for this weekend too!!

  4. Just wanted to say hi! I saw your feature on Meals and Moves. I’m primarily a runner, but am working up the courage to try spinning soon! I’d done one sprint tri and the biking is definitely the weak point for me! Looking forward to reading your blog.

    • Lauren says:

      Hi Brigid! I was a runner before I ever tried Spinning, and then I got hooked! You’ll love it- it’s addicting too!
      PS- love your blog title. πŸ™‚

  5. Denise says:

    Love your dogs. Snacks for Superbown sunday are always fun. You can make new things to try out on other people

  6. Lauren says:

    That pumpkin roll looks amazing! Pumpkin roll is one of my favorite non-chocolate desserts so I like that this recipe is healthy!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

