Happy birthday to me…

I’m 32 today. Wow! What happened to my twenties?

No, seriously, I believe that your thirties are where it’s at. And so far, mine have been very good.

This post is going to be brief, because we are heading out the door to brew our own beer! Greg and I are very excited because neither of us has done this before. We’re meeting up with our friends Mic and Brie (Mic has brewed several times, which will probably be very helpful!).

Yesterday we drove down 270 to hit up Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods (and got lunch at Whole Foods of course). I got my standard salad loaded with veggies and various meatless proteins:

Really, this is my favorite lunch. I would choose it over anything else, any day of the week. And the Kevita drink has become an addiction of mine over recent months as well.

Trader Joe’s still does not carry Speeculos Cookie butter, but they did have this…

I had a bite of this after lunch. Yeah, now I know why I should never buy a whole jar of the stuff- I don’t think I’d be able to keep my spoon out of it!

**

Later on that evening, we met up with my parents to get dinner downtown at The Wine Kitchen. I was really excited to eat there because we had only been for drinks and desserts before (and were super impressed by those!). My mom is a financial aid advisor at one of the local colleges, which happens to be exactly five minutes from my house. She had to work at some event until 4:00, so I picked her up to hang out at my house until it was time to meet my stepdad for dinner.

We took a few photos.

The bad lighting was my fault…

Apparently we both like the color gray. 🙂

Dinner was fantastic- we were all very pleased with our food and drinks. The head chef was the the former head pastry chef at Volt, and you can definitely see the similarities in the food (though the WK is much more reasonably priced). Portions are small, but full of flavor- and kind of perfect. I got red snapper over black lentils (and there were lots of bites traded from all of our dishes). Sorry for not providing more details, and I didn’t take any photos either. I will just say that this is a place that we will go back to again and again.

We ended the night by watching Twilight: Breaking Dawn from Redbox. I know you’re jealous.

**

So far today has been great. I headed out the door bright and early to do a 1 on 1 bodypump class with my friend Brie, and then taught my regular Sunday morning spin class at 8:30. The class was pretty full (for a Sunday especially) and there was a lot of energy in the room. Everybody looked like they wanted to kill me about halfway through the class, but I told them that I took it as a compliment. 🙂

And when I got home, I had my most favorite breakfast.

Oatmeal after Spinning. Haha.

I threw some bananas, strawberries, sunflower butter and Sunspire peanut butter chips (ADDICTED) in there. Sooooooo gooooood. I’m pretty sure I ate back all of the calories I burned this morning with this big bowl of goodness (but it was worth it!)!

Greg made some peanut butter to give to Mic (since he’s a major PB fan):

I love that we can make peanut butter in less than two minutes, any time we want it.

And I’ll leave you with this… my dilemma. In my birthday card from Greg was this note:

If you don’t know already (you will once baseball season arrives), I am a huge Red Sox fan. I’m a huge baseball fan, period, but have been a Fenway faithful for the last five years. Greg and I travel up to Boston a few times each year to see the Sox play, and have also seen them play out west in Seattle and Denver, as well as in DC and Baltimore (more than anywhere else). We have a bucket list to make it to a game at every MLB stadium (to see any game- not just the Sox).

The “secret 4th option” is a trip to Chicago when both the White Sox and Cubs play at home. They’re not playing the Red Sox, but they’re both actually home that same weekend, so we could knock out two stadiums. Plus, Chicago is #1 on my list of cities I want to visit (I’ve never been) and we could also spend time checking out the city.

Option #1 would be going to Chicago to see the Red Sox vs. the Cubs, but the White Sox would be out of town, so we’d only get to see one stadium. BUT, we’d get to see the Red Sox.

Option #2 sounds really fun- both Greg and I LOVE Neil Diamond, and of course, love going to Fenway.

Option #3 sounds great also, and I think Greg picked Cleveland because he knows of my admiration for Grady Sizemore (hubba hubba!). But, as of now, it’s my last choice.

It’s really a toss-up between 1, 2 and 4. I have no idea what to pick (but I have to say- how lucky am I to have such a great guy?).

I’ll re-cap the rest of my day later… it’s time to brew!

Help! What should I choose??

18 Comments on “Happy birthday to me…”

  1. Lee says:

    Happy Birthday!! Have a great day.

    Have you been to Turner Field? I see a Braves game in your future.

  2. Happy birthday!!! It’s my birthday today, too! I’ll only be drinking beer though, not brewing it. What are you guys brewing?

  3. Rebekah says:

    Happy Birthday! I turned 32 this year too…and it’s been good.

    Do not buy Trader Joe’s cookie butter. It is so amazing. I am embarrassed to say that I bought a jar…and proceeded to eat the entire jar in two days with a spoon!!! And I’m not even exaggerating. Just…buyer beware. 😉

  4. Sara R. says:

    Happy Birthday! I forgot your spin class is at 8:30, that’s when I’m in Patty’s class. I should come over to say hi afterward if you’re still around at 9:30. That’s a cute birthday present 🙂 I would choose any of the Chicago options…I LOVE Chicago! So maybe the not-so-secret 4th option 🙂

  5. Amanda says:

    Happy Birthday! What a thoughtful present – I love that he created all of those options for you. So sweet. 🙂

  6. Happy birthday!!! I’d pick option 4 🙂

  7. Happy Birthday to you! May your 32nd year be filled with lots of happiness! 🙂

  8. Happy Happy Birthday 🙂 I heard your 30s are great because you are finally comfortable in your skin!!

    I’d want to go to Chicago!

  9. HAPPY HAPPY Birthday Lauren!!! Hope it was totally fabulous 🙂

  10. janetha says:

    wow, so many options! happy birthday, looks like you celebrated the right way!

  11. Tiffany says:

    Sounds like a great birthday–happy you had a wonderful day and I think you will enjoy 32, it’s quite fun 🙂

    And please send some beer my way please!!! As for your options, I would definitely go with #4. Both of those stadiums are wonderful and Chicago is so much fun!

  12. Happy belated bday beautiful!

  13. BTW I’d take option 2. Never been to boston and would love to go!

    • Lauren says:

      Boston is awesome. We go a few times each year, because Greg’s dad lives there and we like to see a few games. Ughhhhh I can’t choose!! (we will be out in Colorado in May and July though!!)

  14. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! Your husband is too cute, what a fun little gift surprise he put together for you. I know nothing about sports so I have no input other than it seems to be the perfect gift for you.

    I went to TJ’s last week and was so bummed when they told me the cookie butter is a holiday item, no fair.

  15. Corrie Anne says:

    That’s a really stunning picture with your husband! I love it!

  16. Katy says:

    Happy Belated Birthday!! Looks like you had a great time celebrating!!! If you haven’t picked yet, I’d go with option 4! I went to Chicago for the first time last August and fell in love with the city!!!!!!!! It has everything, city/beach/tourist/ballparks/Navy Yard (to try beers/walk along the water/take boat ride)/etc. LOVED everything about it! I went to a Cubs game while I was in town (I too like going to as many ball parks as possible) and the stadium is pretty cool – very antique’ish…….and water views if your seat is right! The surrounding area was pretty cool too. Ok, I could go on and on about Chicago, I’ll stop here. Hope you get to go soon!!!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

