Puppy Love + Tempeh Tacos

Sorry about the lack of posting yesterday. I took a bunch of photos of the lentil soup that I made Wednesday night, and have no idea where the memory card went! Hopefully it will turn up and I can post the photos + recipe later on.

No worries though- it’s Friday!!

I did an hour of yoga with Bob after work yesterday and was savoring my yoga high while driving home. As is often the case, something made me think about my dogs. Whenever I think about Lance and Jackson on the way home from somewhere, I instantly get happy and excited to see them. Whenever Greg and I are driving home from being out somewhere together (whether we’ve been gone for an hour or all day) we start talking about how excited we are to see “the boys.” I always say “I can’t imagine what we’ll be like with human children.” If you’re not a dog person, you probably just don’t get it, but there’s nothing else that can instantly turn my mood from sour to happy when I come home to these guys.

They always run to greet me at the door

and smother me with hugs and kisses.

I can’t even remember what my life was like before these guys came into it, but it’s a lot happier now. ๐Ÿ™‚ I also have to say (since that biological clock might be tickin’ away) that it melts my heart to see how much Greg loves these guys too. He’s the best dog dad ever.

**

Change of topic…

I’ve been on a tempeh kick lately. When I first discovered tempeh about 5 years ago, I got a little obsessed with it. But, I would really only use it for making stir-frys. It was so simple to just slice it up and throw it in with a bunch of vegetables. I think I just ate too much of it back then and took a long break before starting to buy it again a few months ago. It was really Amanda’s Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie that got me hooked on it again. I used the leftover tempeh, along with black beans and edamame to make some outstanding tacos. Ever since then, I’ve always had a block of tempeh in the fridge. I really think that the secret to great tempeh is cutting it up and boiling it first. It seems to help mellow the flavor out a bit and makes it easier to work with.

Since I loved the tempeh tacos that I made before so much (and still had a bunch of corn tortillas to use up), I decided to make some again last night.

Tempeh Tacos (makes 6 big tacos)

1 7.5 oz package tempeh (I usually use Lightlife, but used Turtle Farm Organic Soy last night)

3 1/3 cups water (divided)

1/2 T olive oil

1/2 c chopped yellow onion

1/2 c chopped white mushrooms

1.5 T all-purpose taco seasoning

6 corn tortillas

suggested garnishes: shredded cabbage, Greek yogurt, salsa fresca, sharp cheddar cheese

Bring 3 cups of water to a boil in a medium-sized pot. Cut up the block of tempeh into 1″ cubes and place into the boiling water. Reduce heat to medium and cook for 5 minutes. Drain the water and use a fork to mash the tempeh into small crumbles. Place a large skillet over medium heat and add olive oil. Add in crumbled tempeh and onions and stir well. Continue to stir until tempeh starts to brown and onions become soft (about 5 minutes). Add in mushrooms and cook for an additional 2 minutes. Add in 1/3 c water (more if necessary), along with taco seasoning and mix well, so that the tempeh, mushrooms and onion are evenly coated. Reduce heat to low and cook for an additional 5 minutes, stirring often. Heat corn tortillas in the oven or a skillet for 30 second and then fill with the tempeh “meat.” Top with your favorite garnishes!

Naked tacos (served along with some jasmine rice and roasted zucchini seasoned with garlic, salt and cumin):

All dressed up!

That is one big, awesome mouthful of deliciousness.

Yum. Dinners like this are always SO filling and comforting to me- yet the whole plate was under 400 calories. I’ll take it!

What do you think about tempeh? And if you’re a dog owner, are you obsessed with your dogs as I am?

Have a great weekend!!

 

 

 

24 Comments on “Puppy Love + Tempeh Tacos”

  1. I adore your pups!! So cute. Dinner looks awesome too. Yummy!

  2. We always had dogs growing up and I am a total dog person. Now that we have our own dog and I am literally his world I can’t help but love him right back, you just fall so in love with these sweet animals.

    I’ve only tried tempeh once and I didn’t care for it, but your tacos look so good I would totally eat those up. I am going to give it another try.

  3. ladyanna13 says:

    I definitely understand about the doggies! I say the same thing “what did we do when we didn’t have these creatures running around with us?” Your doggies are so beautiful and cute! Goldens were always our family dogs. =)

  4. CUTE dogs!! Such a great way to come home, I bet!

    I have some tempeh but have never tried anything with it….gotta get on that! Maybe this weekend?

  5. Gil says:

    Awww, puppies ๐Ÿ™‚
    I think there is something wrong with anti-dog people–how can any sane person resist them??

  6. Amanda says:

    I’ve never tried boiling tempeh before I use it. I’ll have to give that a try next time!

    I think you know how I feel about my dogs. ๐Ÿ™‚ They’re like children to me. Lance and Jackson are too cute! And aren’t puppy greetings the best? Sometimes I’ll just go downstairs to do a load of laundry and when I come back (after 2 minutes), Honey acts like she hasn’t seen me in days. I love it!

  7. Corrie Anne says:

    I loved seeing the flashback post of your dogs as puppies!! I love them so much!!! I love my dog so much even though he definitely prefers my husband. Lol. They were bachelors together! I didn’t stand a chance!! I plan to get my own dog, but not until we’re in a bigger place this summer! I can’t wait!!!

    • Lauren says:

      We were in a townhouse when we got them and moved when they were 11 months old. It has made all of the difference in the world to have more space- and a big yard!

  8. Oh my gosh! The pups are huge! I didn’t realize how big they were. Korky would be dwarfed by them. I want to snuggle with them like a big ol’ body pillow. Ha! Weird?

  9. lindsay says:

    i am obsessed with my dog and now i miss her like crazy!!

  10. I’m one of those people who doesn’t get the dog love. BUT, your two guys are super cute!!

  11. Lili says:

    I have 2 medium sized dogs and i am also SO OBSESSED with them!! I absolutely LOVE dogs so much! Yours are so adorable – how can you resist to these cute faces? We just can’t! ๐Ÿ˜€

  12. Lee says:

    Of course I am obsessed with my dog. He’s the best dog ever. (Well besides yours!)

  13. your dogs are too huge for me…I’m scared…I love tempeh but seriously, you have to season it well or it’s a chunky chewy mess.

  14. Tiffany says:

    I’m so in love with my dog, it’s borderline ridiculous. I can’t imagine him NOT in my life so I know exactly what you’re talking about ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hooray for tempeh–you’re tacos look awesome and colorful! I will buy tempeh every now and then but it’s been way too long, I may have to pick up some soon.

  15. Heather says:

    I cannot get over how much my girl Remy looks like Jackson. Their resemblance is uncanny, down to the coloring and the long nose. My husband and I are obsessed with her and I completely understand your feelings. I used to look for things to do on the weekend, but now I savor every minute with her. She gives me hope that I’ll one day love my human children a lot haha!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

