Breakfast Bakes + The Party Bus

Saturday morning started out innocent enough. Since I’ve bookmarked nearly every single one of Ashley’s recipes, I figured that it would be a good idea to try one of her bakes out for breakfast. I came across this recipe yesterday and was nearly salivating over her gorgeous photos. As I was gathering the dry ingredients together in a bowl, I started wondering how the same recipe would taste with my (beloved) coconut flour. I ended up making two different bakes: one with coconut flour and one with buckwheat flour. I followed Ashley‘s recipe for the buckwheat bake with a few minor changes- I used 1/4 liquid egg whites instead of the flax egg, 1 t maple syrup + 1 package of Xylitol/Stevia blend (instead of 1 T maple syrup) and oat groats instead of buckwheat groats (because I didn’t have any).

I mixed in the wet ingredients and poured the batter into two different bowls. It’s amazing how different the texture and consistency of coconut flour is compared to pretty much any other type of flour. It also seems to triple in size when liquid is added! When the bakes came out of the oven, they looked like this:

* Forgive the very poor quality of the photos. I was too hungry to care. ๐Ÿ™‚

I attempted the flip the coconut one over first, figuring that it would just slip right out of the bowl. Nope. Instead, this happened:

(the bottom half was still stuck inside the bowl)

I made an attempt to get the buckwheat flour bake out, but it didn’t budge. I ended up making a cut down the middle and just scooping half of it out of the bowl.

I ate half of each bake, topped with a mixture of Greek yogurt, almond milk, peanut flour and sliced strawberries.

Both bakes were extremely tasty, but I think I liked the buckwheat one just a little bit better. I gave Greg a taste of both, and he gave the edge to the coconut. I loved the texture of both, and was so full (for hours)! The best thing was that I had the same amount left over for breakfast the next morning. ๐Ÿ™‚

After breakfast, we ran out to get a few things at the store and to make a six-pack of beer at Frederick Wine House for our friend Matt. When we got home, it was beautifully sunny and 50หš. It was my “rest” day for the week, but just to get a little blood flowing, I took Jackson out for (what ended up being) a 5-mile walk. I have to say again- I am loving this non-winter we’re having!

We had a quick lunch afterwards and then Greg and I headed over to our friend’s (Matt and Kelly) house where we were greeted by this sight:

That’s right- a party bus. Kelly rented this to celebrate her husband’s 30th birthday! It was the perfect combination of sleazy + awesomeness.

Check out the inside:

What are those poles for, hmmm?

We had quite a group- 19 people total.

About 1/2 of the people in the group are high school teachers. ๐Ÿ™‚

Kelly had taken it upon herself to make some drinks (wine-a-ritas) for the road.

(Forgive the blurriness- it was a bumpy ride!)

The back-of-the-bus crew:

We stopped at Notaviva Vineyards to taste some wine before heading to dinner. I love this winery, and hadn’t been there in a couple of years. It was even featured on HGTV’s “Dream Homes.” The owners of the vineyard built the home and winery on the concept of pairing wine with music. The tasting room was built to have fantastic acoustics (and it does!).

There was a musician playing. I should have requested him to sing “Happy Birthday!”

Trisha, Kelly, Katie and me:

We left the vineyard to grab dinner at Tuscarora Mill in Leesburg. Matt and Kelly were actually the ones who introduced Greg and I to Tuskies, and the last time we were there was for Kelly’s birthday.

By the time we got back on the bus, everyone was feeling a little silly. Kelly even decided to show off her dance moves.

When we got to Tuskies, we were sat at two large tables. Kelly had gone there earlier and left a few little party favors for everyone- shot glasses stuffed with chocolates- and very dirty sounding shot recipes. Here’s just a few examples:

Matt had the bartender make this one. It was ridiculously good.

Leave it to an English teacher to come up with an idea like that. ๐Ÿ™‚

Abby and Katie modeled their shot glasses:

Kelly and the birthday boy (ugh, low light!):

Me and Greg:

The dinner menus had a nice little message on top:

And the beer list at Tuskies always rules.

I ended up getting a glass of red wine- I can’t remember the specific type, but it was the closest thing they had to Pinot Noir (there were not Pinots by the glass that night! The horror!)

My entree was the fish special- rockfish of course. ๐Ÿ™‚

The food was great- as always. Tuskies never disappoints!

Everyone was feeling really good on the bus ride home! This was the best photo that Greg could get of us four crazy girls:

Yeah. That pretty much sums it up!

It was a really awesome night, and Kelly was really great to put this whole thing together for her hubby (and all of us that got to come along)! It definitely goes down as one of the most fun birthday parties I’ve ever been a part of!

What’s the most fun/unique birthday party that you’ve been to?

12 Comments on “Breakfast Bakes + The Party Bus”

  1. Lee says:

    That sounds like fun! What are wine-a-ritas?

    • Lauren says:

      I can’t remember exactly what she put in them- but it’s wine, margarita mix and triple sec… maybe something else? SO good! I had to be careful there. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. What an awesome party! I have to know what is in a wine-a-rita too! I love the little shot glass with recipe ideas. Clever, clever, clever.

    Oh, and back in the day I really wanted to buy a bus and make it into a party bus. Ha!

  3. Kelly says:

    how I would love to Tuskies…I think I’m going to mark this down for hubbies 40th bday in two years. Loved the personalization of the dinner. How fun.

  4. Those bakes look sooo yummy! I’m going to need to check those out!

  5. Liz says:

    I went on a party bus for a bachelorette…it also had a pole. And people may have started using the pole after a few wineries ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Corrie Anne says:

    What an awesome party!!!! How fun and creative. I haven’t been to a stellar b-day bash in a while. I’ll make Kevin throw me one like that when I turn 30!

  7. Wow, what a fun party, and with that bus? So very cool. I’ve been to some fun parties that had great food, but really if my friends are there it’s always a good time.

  8. OMG. What a fun idea. A whole day of drinking, eating, and pole dancing?!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

