Good eats

I’m happy to say that I’ve made it through 2 full days of eating on Jackie Warner’s plan. To be honest, it really hasn’t been that hard! I think that one thing that will make it easier for me to not snack after dinner is to eat just a tad later (not too late though). Sometimes we eat super early, and then I’m hungry again by 7 or 8:00. We had dinner at 7:00 last night, and I enjoyed my cup of tea at 8:00 while watching Survivor. I went to be feeling satisfied (and most importantly- not full or hungry) and slept well. And I woke up today feeling great and with a good attitude. Part of that might be due to the fact that it is supposed to get up near 70 degrees here today.

By the way, Janetha does an awesome review of Jackie’s book here and here. If you’re interested in knowing about the book, I highly recommend you read her review. She really breaks it down well- chapter by chapter. (Plus she has some really awesome recipes and workouts on both posts!)

Sticking to Jackie’s eating plan does have a few small challenges for me. #1 is keeping the fruit to two servings a day. When I was doing Weight Watchers, I was encouraged to eat as much fruit as I wanted. I pretty much had at least one serving of fruit with every meal and snack. I have to have an apple with my lunch, and typically have a banana with breakfast. My snack of choice in the afternoon is usually a smoothie made with fruit, spinach, protein powder, ice and water. I’m not sure if I’ll enjoy it as much without fruit. My plan today is to make a pumpkin smoothie- because that is on her “veggie” list (and my pumpkin pie smoothies are always a winner!)

What I’m really tying to focus on is how I feel after I eat- not just during. There are plenty of foods that make me feel good while I’m eating them- but not so much afterwards. Along with my food journal, I think I might documenting how I feel after meals. As an emotional eater, I definitely have an emotional connection to certain foods- and there are things that I just feel like I have to eat – mostly good, but some not so good (like sweet after dinner). I managed to break out of my oatmeal every day for breakfast routine over the last few months, and believe me- that was tough. Obviously, there’s nothing unhealthy about the oatmeal that I eat, but for me, it’s good to shake things up and not get so stuck in a routine.

Planning out my eats for the day the night before has really been helping me stay on track- especially in regards to snacks. Why haven’t I done this before?!

When I posted my ‘planned’ eats for the rest of the day yesterday morning, I mentioned that I was going to experiment with an eggy dish after my workout. Well, I’m happy to say that it ruled. What I ended up with was a protein pancake/omelet of sorts.

It isn’t the prettiest dish in the world, but my goodness it tasted awesome- like custard.

Super protein pancake

1 egg, beaten

1/2 c 1% no salt added cottage cheese

1/4 c liquid egg whites

1 T coconut flour

1/2 t baking power

vanilla extract, cinnamon and stevia to taste

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Place a skillet over medium heat and pour batter. Cook for 5 minutes on one side (or until edges start to turn golden brown) and flip. Cook for an additional 3 minutes on the other side.

Stats for this snack: 222 calories, 10 g carbs, 7 g fat, 30 g protein.

**

Dinner last night was also a winner- and very simple: 4 oz grilled tuna, 1/2 c. (cooked) quinoa and roasted asparagus, broccoli and golden beets. I made a mango salsa to go on top of the tuna using mango, red and green onion, bell pepper, salt and a tiny bit of honey.

I feel like I have neglected quinoa so much lately. Ever since I discovered other grains like freekeh and farro, quinoa has kind of been on the back burner. It was time for a comeback.

As I said earlier in the post, the only thing that followed dinner was a cup of green tea (1 bag Celestial Seasoning Mandarin Orange + Green Tea)- and I really did enjoy every sip.

Unbelievably, my daily calories were under 1500- 1473 to be exact.

The calories were broken down like this:

Breakfast: 371

Snack: 93

Lunch: 293

Pre-workout: 45

Snack: 222

Dinner: 449

I should probably eat a few more calories at lunch and less at dinner- but all in all, I’m happy with the breakdown. I do want to be careful though to not go too low and try to stay right around 1500- especially on days when I’m burning so much from exercising. Any lower than this will just F up my metabolism even more.

**

I switched it up for breakfast today and experimented with something for the first time ever in my seven years of packing breakfast to bring to work: I had eggs. I wasn’t sure how the eggs would be re-heated in the morning, but they actually ended up being great! I cooked them the night before and set everything in a glass container (easy for reheating). The scrambled eggs were made from 1 egg, 1 egg white, 1/4 cottage cheese and served with mixed roasted veggies (onion, asparagus, mushroom, broccoli, tomato and spinach) and some salsa.

I also had a piece of Eziekel bread with 1 T peanut butter and 1/2 of a sliced banana, and some Pero with almond milk on the side (love this stuff!). Unfortunately, I had to eat this pretty fast, but it did manage to keep me full until it was time for my snack. 🙂

The rest of the eats for today include:

Snack: celery sticks with peanut flour butter (3 T peanut flour + 2 T almond milk)

Lunch: Salad of mixed greens, cabbage, cucumber, tomato; 3 oz. tuna mixed with 2 T 0% greek yogurt, celery and onion, (possibly) a multigrain Flat-out wrap, Fuji Apple

Snack: Smoothie with 1 c pumpkin puree, 1 scoop Vanilla protein powder, spinach, ice, water

Dinner: Pork taco salad: 4 oz. pulled pork with Mexican spices (cooking away in crock pot right now), mixed greens + veggies, 1/4 c black beans, Greek yogurt, salsa

… and green tea.

(note- I will not be posting my eats every day. To me, that gets really boring.)

Today is my rest/yoga day, but given today’s weather forecast, I may have to forgo my yoga date with Bob. I have a dentist appointment directly after work, but I’m hoping that it goes very quickly and I can come home and take one of the dogs for a long walk.

So, it’s been pretty easy to make it through the work week and stick to the plan. The upcoming weekend will truly be a test of how serious I am about staying the course!

How’s the weather where you are? 🙂

9 Comments on “Good eats”

  1. Beautiful 🙂 I’m thinking about going for a long walk tonight after my workout!! I might walk into DC.

    Thanks for the tip about reheating the scrambled eggs. I love eggs but I’m at work for a couple hours before I eat breakfast so I can’t make them fresh so I’m glad to know they reheat well!

  2. I LOVE eggs, and once I made the switch to eggs and less oatmeal, I immediately started losing some body fat. Not kidding. And I didn’t feel as icky full (I only ate 1/3-1/2 cup oats + 1Tb AB). So weird. I think my body just does better with more protein!

    They recently did a study on one woman–she did everything right, ate well, exercised, etc. but she wasn’t losing weight….so they stuck her in a caloric chamber (sealed so they can test the calories eaten and expended–very expensive!!), and after 24 hours noticed that at night, when the fat burning should happen, the levels were low. And then looking at her meals they noticed she was eating a higher percentage of carbs and not so much protein (I think it was around 11%)….and that was the AHH AH moment. She needed to eat more protein and less carbs (all of her carbs were ‘good’ carbs too)! Just goes to show that protein DOES matter.

    SOrry for the long windedness 🙂 And good luck! SOunds like a great plan!

    • Lauren says:

      Annette, that is fascinating, really! I love to hear studies like that. I have definitely increased my protein this week- but I hear so many conflicting reports about everything. I guess I just have to really stay focused and see if it makes a difference!

  3. It sounds like you’re doing great. I think 2 servings of fruit per day is totally do-able. Less than that would be haaaard! Keep it up!

    • Lauren says:

      3 servings of fruit would be perfect for me, because I like to have one for breakfast, another at lunch and something in my smoothie after I work out. But, I’ve managed all week and I’m still alive!

  4. Lee says:

    It was 75 degrees here today! Very nice although it made me skip my workout and meet a friend for a glass of wine after work. Umm, oops?

  5. […] packed with protein, that wasn’t my normal smoothie or Greek yogurt. And then I remembered a little protein pancake that I made a couple of months […]


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

