A new title for my blog?

That subject line leads you in, doesn’t it? I’ll get to that in a minute.

Yesterday I had a staff meeting after work that seemed to drag on forever- but maybe that was because it was 66 degrees outside and sunny and I was itching to be out enjoying it! When I got home I quickly changed (into shorts!), grabbed Jackson, and took him for a short run. We ran over to the local college where my mom works (which is about 2 miles away) and paid her a quick visit. We also saw my friend Melissa, who works in the admissions office! Melissa and I were partners in crime during high school, but haven’t seen each other much in our adult years. It was really good to catch up with her for a few minutes yesterday and I told her that I still think about her every time I hear Pearl Jam on the radio (she was a little obsessed).

Jackson and I covered about 4 miles (round trip) in a little over 30 minutes, and it felt great! When I got back home, Greg was playing with Lance in the backyard. I asked him to get a photo of me and the boys, who were not in the mood to cooperate.

That last one was as good as we could get.

So, back to the title of this post. Lately I think that I should rename my blog “Lauren’s take on Ashley’s recipes” (or even “Lauren is obsessed with Ashley’s recipes) because I make so many of them. I can’t help it- I’ve said it before, but check out her recipes. I’ve  never seen a collection of recipes that so specifically meets my taste buds in my life! Every recipe I make from her blog tastes awesome. Her food always looks about 100x more beautiful though.

I had a brick of extra firm tofu pressing yesterday while I was at work and was pretty sure that I wanted to cook it on the grill, barbeque style. I’ve tried grilling tofu once (long before I had my Tofu Xpress!) and it was a disaster. Luckily, Ashley’s tutorial came to the rescue!

I cut the tofu into 4 large pieces and marinated it in beer, barbeque sauce (a mixture of the two kinds I had on hand), some apple cider vinegar, a little ginger and garlic.

Greg and I thought that an IPA would be the best beer to use for the marinade- and this beer is super good (and super hoppy)! Since I’m strictly following Jackie’s plan, I only had a tiny sip.

Greg got the grill heated up to 400 degrees, oiled the grates, and set the tofu down to do it’s thing. After being grilled for 6 minutes on each side, these slabs of tofu looked perfect– a little bit of char was just what I was looking for!

I roasted some cauliflower and baked a sweet potato to go along with the tofu. Not a very colorful dish- but full of good nutrients, nonetheless!

I slathered a little extra barbeque sauce on the tofu, which made it taste even better!

I’m pretty sure that I’m going to get my money’s worth out of that tofu press. 🙂

Later on, as Greg and I geared up to watch the trainwreck that is The Bachelor, we noticed that Lance had gone missing. Normally the dogs sit with us in the living room, but Lance had quietly slipped away upstairs while we were cleaning up from dinner. I brought my camera along when I went up to find him, because I was sure that he was up to no good. This was what I saw when I flipped on the bedroom light:

He had dragged one dog bed over to his big dog bed, along with my Red Sox jammies. Lance has this thing about clothing- he loves to cuddle up with it (rather than chew it up- thank goodness!). I guess maybe it makes him feel secure, or he likes the smell… I don’t know. I can’t count how many times I have found him asleep somewhere, clutching a t-shirt of mine with his little paws. I leaned down to take a closer picture, and he put his little head down and went back to sleep.

I still made him come back downstairs with me.  He’s too cute to leave all alone in our room!

**

Around here, it’s business as usual. I started my day at 4:30 am jumping out of bed to make it the gym just before 5, do the warm-up, chest, back and triceps tracks from Bodypump 80, and teach spin class- and managed to make it to work at 7 on the dot. I’m looking for that fast forward button to get me through the rest of the day…

Have a great Tuesday!

Do you have a favorite blogger (for recipes)? What’s your favorite way to prepare tofu (if you like it at all!)?

 

 

24 Comments on “A new title for my blog?”

  1. Calee says:

    I just have to say that I love your dogs! They are so pretty. I couldn’t imagine owning ONE, let alone TWO dogs that size. I have a 10 lb dachshund, and he is a handful at that tiny size!

  2. Corrie Anne says:

    That’s a good pic. I’d say both dogs looking at the camera is a win! I can’t even get one. Unless I’m holding food out in front of him. Hahaha.

    I’m all over Skinny Taste and Peas & Thank You. Always cooking them!

  3. Gretchen says:

    Your dogs are SO handsome. ❤

    Also, I agree, Gina from Skinny Taste has the most amazing recipes. Also, if you're not concerned with the whole many-lbs-of-cream-and-butter-thing, Jessica from How Sweet Eats is a goddess.

  4. Manda Kay says:

    How precious are the pics of your dogs? Too cute!

    I’m a big fan of Oh She Glows (vegan) and Skinny Taste. Great sites!

  5. Cute dogs!!!

    You’re amazing for getting up that early and getting to work by 7. Now I feel lazy. Hah 😉 Have a good day!!!

  6. raceready says:

    I wish I liked tofu more, I just seem to be lost as to what to do with it…bad because I am a vegetarian! I pretty much live off oatmeal + PB. 🙂

    • Lauren says:

      It’s really all in the way it’s prepared- tofu can be awesome or taste like nothing at all.
      If you have access to Twin Oaks brand tofu (especially one of the herb flavors) where you are, get it!
      Otherwise, living off oatmeal and PB ain’t so bad!

  7. I think your dinner looks fabulous! Probably because mine looked almost identical last night. 🙂

    My favorite way to eat tofu is baked. I love how fluffy it gets inside!

  8. smitten kitchen recipes always look amazing, but that tofu makes me want to give it another shot. looks great!

  9. Ok can I have your dog? He is so dang cute I can’t stand it, what a sweetie. I get my recipes from everywhere. I really like Cooks Illustrated magazine, Allrecipes (love the ratings and the comments from people giving their own suggestions), Joy the Baker, Oh She Glows and really just a bunch of random blogs, I am not loyal to only one. I just love making a variety of food so I need them all.

    • Lauren says:

      Sure- which one do you want? I think you have your hands full with your pup! 🙂
      I used to always get all of my recipes from Whole Foods website, before I discovered blogs. I love Oh She Glows- I cook a lot of those too.

  10. Lili says:

    love these pups!!!!

  11. OMG. your tofu recipes are getting better and better…and yes, you are obsessed with her recipes but who cares? Hahaha. Maybe you can rename your blog I eat What Ashley eats?

  12. […] wrote a post a last week talking about grilling tofu, and got a great comment and recipe suggestion from Laura. […]


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

