March Goals! (and February Check-In)

Hooray for March!! I don’t know how the weather is where you are, but March is certainly not coming in like a ‘lion’ here. Definitely more like a lamb. The high is near 70 degrees today!

We have parent/teacher conferences today and tomorrow. School started 4 hours late today, since teachers will be staying later in the evening. So this means that I got to sleep in until 7 am, hit the gym for a nice long workout (Bodypump and cardio) and have breakfast AT HOME. The morning was leisurely and not rushed, which is such a nice change of pace. Tomorrow we report to work at the normal time, and the kids get out early (and we stay for conferences until the time we usually go home). I’m subbing for my old early morning spin class though, so that means the day will start at 4:30 am. Yikes! (Seriously though- any day that I can get paid to work out isn’t so bad.)

In the spirit of the first of the month, I’m checking back in on last month’s goals and how I did:

FEBRUARY GOALS:

1. Do something fun for my birthday. Check. Holla!

2. Create more original vegan recipes. Not so much. I have cooked many vegan dishes this month, but none have been completely original. Almost all were “inspired by” another recipe.

3. Eat less at night. Ever since I started Jackie’s plan, I have rocked the house on this one. After dinner, I have a cup of tea and my Adora dark chocolate calcium supplement (a whopping 30 calories) to satisfy my sweet tooth. Luckily, it’s become a habit.

4. Track my eats using my cell phone. I started using My Fitness Pal in February and LOVE IT. It’s really opened my eyes to exactly where my calories come from and inspired me to make a lot of changes. I track on my computer, ipad, phone… it all syncs up and I love it!

5. Get some tests done. Got my thyroid checked- it’s normal. Which is good- but still doesn’t explain my hypothyroidism symptoms.

6. Do yoga at least twice a week. Not so much. Once a week though. On really nice days, I just can’t help myself and choose a brisk walk or run over yoga. I know that might not sound bad- but my body really needs yoga.

7. Be more conscious of the “why?” (From Tina’s post) Sorta. I’m going to keep working on this.

8. Love and embrace my body a bit more You know what- I am actually making progress on this! Since I stopped eating so much at night and have focused on having more calories consumed before dinner, I have noticed a big change in how my body feels when I wake up in the morning. For the last week or two, I’ve actually noticed my stomach feeling and looking flatter- and that is a great feeling!

9. Learn the choreography for Bodypump 80! Oh yeah. So easy- done.

10. Grow my nails. Again- sorta. They did grow, some broke, but now I have that super strength 2-week polish on them that will keep them from breaking and help them grow. This goal needs to bleed over to March.

**

And just because I don’t want this post to be without any photos, here’s one I took of Bear Lake (in Rocky Mt. National Park) during one of my trips to Colorado.

Ahhhh… Colorado…

And now onto this month: here they are…

MARCH GOALS

1.To not fall off the wagon I am going on two full (successful) weeks with Jackie Warner’s eating/weight loss plan, and really want to keep the motivation going. I know me- I could slowly start returning to eating habits that hinder my progress at any time. So not gonna let that happen…

2. One drink per week This kind of goes with #1, but alcohol is a big no-no on Jackie’s plan. Honestly- if Greg is having a beer or glass of wine with dinner- I usually have one sip (and I’m fine with that) but want to just stick on having one drink on either Friday or Saturday night.

3. Grow my fingernails and not let them break Just like last month, except I’m going into this month was a great start on that.

4. Get better quality sleep I’ve actually been really good about going to bed early- but the quality of my sleep sucks. I think a lot of this is due to letting the dogs sleep in the bed (which they completely hog). I need to put my foot down and say no to this.

5.Yoga, yoga, yoga Again, as mentioned above- I really need this at least 2x a week. My body and mind are just way better off when I have a regular yoga routine.

6. Organize a blogger meet-up/fun social outing I’m going to try to organize something for the last (full) weekend in March. I don’t know much more than that- but if you’re a DC-area blogger, hit me up!

7. Have ‘the big talk’ with Greg about the future I feel like I’m at a major crossroads with my career/family/housing situation and feel really unstable about all of it. Greg and I really need to have some uninterrupted time to figure out what the next few years look like.

8. Smile more! Spring is around the corner and “winter” will soon be a distant memory. That makes me happy. Happy people should smile more. 🙂

Just 8 goals this month- but- most of these are a bit challenging. I’m really hoping to accomplish them all!

How’s your March so far? What are your goals this month?

20 Comments on “March Goals! (and February Check-In)”

  1. Shannon says:

    Hi Lauren,
    I’m a fairly new reader and love reading your blog!

    About your hypothyroidism symptoms…I was experiencing some symptoms as well and after normal labs and a lupus scare (which, thankfully, turned out to be nothing), I went to see a nutritionist that does functional medicine. I had a saliva test done and she determined I have adrenal fatigue which has to do with cortisol levels. Anyway, I’ve been on some new supplements for about a week and I am feeling much better already. That may be something you want to look into. There’s a book called “Adrenal Fatigue” by James Wilson that has been a lifesaver for me. 🙂

    • Lauren says:

      I did a saliva test too- I had to swab 4 different times in a day and mailed it off to a lab (it was all through a nutritionist). What kind of doc did you go through?
      And I will have to check that book out!

      • Shannon says:

        I did mine through a nutritionist as well. So far, between the lab test, supplements and visits with the nutritionist, I’ve spent about $1,000 as well. I really hope it works because I need some remedy! At 33 years old, I should not be walking around so tired all the time. My sleep has improved for sure, but there are days where I still wake up exhausted, but I’m thinking it could be my diet as well. I’ve been consuming entirely too much sugar and processed food lately. My cravings have been out of control, but I know it’s just a vicious cycle – eat more, crave more. Good luck!!

  2. Bekah says:

    Hi Lauren-
    Like Shannon, I’m a new reader (I think for two weeks now). I really enjoy your blog!

    I’m a pharmacist and thought I would point out that sometimes physicians only test certain thyroid levels and tell you you’re fine. If you’re still having symptoms of hypothyroid, make sure they have tested your TSH, free T3 and free T4. The other thing is that they should test your thyroid antibodies if your TSH was normal because you could potentially have Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis. I also agree with Shannon that you could potentially have adrenal fatigue. If your physician doesn’t feel comfortable or know much about these conditions, you could always look for a naturopathic physician.

    Good luck!

    • Lauren says:

      They tested all of those things… no one ever seems to know. I went to a nutritionist once that found that I had super high cortisol levels, and I ended up just spending about $1000 on supplements and tests and nothing improved.

  3. Number 8 is awesome and exciting. Thank you for your friendship Lauren!!

  4. LOVE this!! Great job on your goals–and yes, improving sleep is definitely important!! I say, just don’t let the dogs in….but I’m not a dog owner, haha.

    Way to go on BodyPUMP 80–it’s a good one, eh?! Totally love it (minus the chest track).

    Cheers to it almost being the weekend!

    • Lauren says:

      BP 80 grew on me. I’m excited to get 81 soon- and this is the first one that I’ll actually be part of the launch for and teach from the beginning. Yay!

  5. Michelle says:

    You did awesome on your February goals! Way to go!

    We don’t have a dog yet, but I already told my husband that when we do get a dog, I do not want them sleeping in our bed.

    I would love to organize a blogger meet-up, but I don’t think there are enough bloggers in Anchorage to do that! Ha!

  6. Love the idea of the monthly goals. Hang in there with the thyroid/tests. I had my thyroid removed last year–if you ever want to chat thyroid, let me know.

  7. lgsmash says:

    big goals! i try to make just 1 goal per month – i’m too ‘all over the place’ as it is so i’ve found if i try to focus on just 1 goal each month, i can really pay attention to it and make that change.

    your goals are great and thoughtful – if you can figure out how to get more quality sleep, send your tips my way! since alex moved in, i cannot sleep during the week!

    Have you tried a shellac or gelish mani? I’ve got really flaky nails but have been trying to grow them – the shellac mani is strong enough to last 2 wks but doesn’t ruin the integrity of your nail, like acrylics do. I’ve gotten a couple of shellac manis back-to-back and have noticed a huge improvement in the quality of my nail – without shellac now & they’re longer and stronger than they have been in a long time.

    • Lauren says:

      1 goal per month sounds like a very SMART idea and I might have to just switch over to that. Too many goals can be overwhelming (even though some are totally doable).
      I think the shellac mani is similar to what I got the other day. It definitely helps my nails NOT break! I just have to not peel it off and keep up with it!

  8. Lee says:

    I think you did really well with your February goals! And the March ones sound do-able, even if they will be harder.

    Murphy sleeps in the bed and is a total bed hog so I cannot imagine having two of him in there. What size bed do you have? I hope, for your sake, it’s a king!

    Jason and I have had “the big talk, ” recently, at least about one of those things. (How’s that for a vague comment?)

    • Lauren says:

      Haha- I’m pretty sure I know what “talk” you mean. 🙂 I think you and I are in pretty much the same place there!
      Our bed is a king- and it’s still not big enough.

  9. Jennifer says:

    My goal is to keep up with my new blog :o) I knew I would like yours when I saw the title…I’m an oatmeal addict.

  10. Tiffany says:

    I like your goals–good mix of fun and serious! I agree that you and Greg need to have a talk, like a talk about you all selling your home and moving to CO! I still havent been to Rocky Mtn National Park but apparently need to get there soon, that picture of yours is absolutely gorgeous!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

