Saturday Survey [+ cauliflower pizza crust]

It’s the weekend!! Janetha created a survey on her blog, and I copied it. Feel free to copy it to your own blog to fill out!

A is for age: 32

B is for breakfast today: a smoothie with Vega Vanilla Chai Health Optimizer and a piece of toast with a runny egg. And a spoonful of almond butter

C is for currently craving: Honestly nothing… I just are breakfast and I’m full!

D is for dinner tonight: Having an old friend from high school and her husband over! The menu includes chicken with a chardonnay sauce, freekeh, and a salad with all kinds of goodies in it. Breyer’s vanilla ice cream (+ berries) for dessert.

E is for favorite type of exercise: Indoors: Spinning and Bodypump (obviously). Outdoors: Trail Running or Hiking

F is for an irrational fear: Leaving my curling iron plugged in and it somehow starting a fire (I check like 3 times to make sure it’s turned off)

G is for gross food: Any fast food. I can’t remember the last time I even had any… maybe 6 years? (oh, what… there was a stop at Chick-Fil-A once about 3 years ago because it was literally the only thing open.)

H is for hometown: Mt. Airy, Maryland. And now I live 20 minutes from there. I NEED TO GET OUT.

I is for something important: My health- it’s the most important thing to me in my life!

J is for current favorite jam: Anything on the Sirius/XM station LITHIUM. I live for 90s grunge rock!

K is for kids: Two fur-kids, Lance and Jackson. There might be a human one in the future… we’ll see.

L is for current location: In my kitchen, in my house, in Frederick MD.

M is for the most recent way you spent money: on a massage last Tuesday. I can’t believe I haven’t bought anything since then!

N is for something you need: Groceries- I’m about the head out to Whole Foods and Trader Joes (and there goes my paycheck…)

O is for occupation: To pay the bills, I’m a high school teacher. But my passion is my part-time job of teaching Spinning and Bodypump. (I will find a way to make this full-time!!)

P is for pet peeve: Having to repeat myself. I do it about 100x times a day because teenagers don’t listen. It seriously drives me crazy.

Q is for a quote: “Don’t sweat the petty things, and don’t pet the sweaty things.” -the late, great George Carlin

R is for random fact about you: I won the spelling bee in 2nd grade. I believe the final word was “calves.” How appropriate. 🙂

S is for favorite healthy snack: A smoothie or anything with peanut flour in it (like peanut flour mixed with pumpkin puree, stevia and cinnamon- oh man is it good).

T is for favorite treat: Ice cream, hands down, anytime, anywhere.

U is for something that makes you unique: Underneath it all, I’m just a tree-hugger wannabe hippie who would prefer wearing flip-flops to heels any day. I really do belong in Boulder, CO.

V is for favorite vegetable: Geez, why don’t you just ask me to pick my favorite fur child?? Ummm… any kind of squash, maybe? That’s too hard- I seriously love them all.

W is for today’s workout: Cardio day! 15 min extreme rowing, 20 min stairmill, 20 min running, 20 min elliptical… and a little stretching.

X is for X-rays you’ve had: Teeth, several on my feet (damn bunions), ankle (I sprained it when I was 22)

Y is for yesterday’s highlight: Soaking in the tub for an hour after working out, and following it up with pizza and couch time.

Z is for your time zone: Eastern

Well, that was fun- Janetha made that survey up all by herself! 🙂

And speaking of Janetha, I made this crust for my pizza last night. (I divided it in half and made a personal pizza for myself, and Greg used a piece of naan bread for his). Guess what’s it made of? That’s right- cauliflower!

When I spread it out on the baking sheet, I thought there was no way it would stay together- boy was I surprised that it did!

I topped it with some veggies and fresh mozzarella cheese.

It was tasty- and like Janetha said, had to be eaten with a knife and fork. Though I really liked the flavor, it didn’t fill me up at all. I think that if I make it again, I’ll go a little heavier on the cheese or add some other protein on top.

We also opened up one of the IPAs that we brewed.

Greg like it, I did not. I think it still need more time to (hopefully) get good.

I’m off to do some shopping (of the grocery variety). These two are looking after the house for me while I’m gone. 🙂

Do you like these random surveys as much as I do? Choose any questions from the survey to answer!

20 Comments on “Saturday Survey [+ cauliflower pizza crust]”

  1. ellie says:

    i do believe cauliflower might be my favorite veggie.. it’s pretty high up on the list. i’ve done cauliflower mash a couple of times.. this crust is NEXT!!!

  2. Lee says:

    Ha! I just did this on my blog like 2 hours ago. Great minds think alike! And if you want to get out of Frederick, Atlanta is pretty cool. Just sayin’.

  3. janetha says:

    Oh that Carlin quote is hilarious! And yay for fellow spelling bee champs 🙂 I will be over for dinner, you had me at chicken and the ice cream sealed the deal.

  4. Gil says:

    I am also outrageously OCD about checking that I have turned off my hair straightener. And countless times I have turned around after already leaving the house to go back and check AGAIN. (Once, it was on. Craziness reinforced.) I seriously just need to buy one of these http://www.amazon.com/Westinghouse-T00448-2-Outlet-Indoor-Mechanical/dp/B0039UT73Y/ref=pd_sim_e_1 so I know it will switch itself off automatically if I am gone.

  5. That pizza crust is currently on my to make list!!

    And my favorite veggie (although I agree it’s hard to choose) would have to be a sweet potato. YUM. Have a great weekend!

    • Lauren says:

      Well, if we’re counting sweet potatoes, that’s a whole new ball game. THEN I would just have to narrow it down to my favorite TYPE of sweet potato!

  6. Corrie Anne says:

    I saw a recipe for cauli crust and was so curious! I should try that sometime next week!! Yum.

  7. Nicole says:

    I’ll choose Q…
    Quote: “A woman is like a tea bag. You can’t tell how strong she is until you put her into hot water.”

  8. I’m with you on the ice cream! On my super-indulgent days I would top it with Guinness!

  9. lgsmash says:

    a massage sounds heavenly!

    how’s that IPA?!!! we’re 1 week from bottling a pomelo pale ale – not sure how it’s going to turn out but it smells delicious!

  10. Kelly says:

    That pizza crust (and your toppings) look amazing! Now I’m hungry!! I just found your site, and look forward to seeing more posts 🙂

  11. Jen says:

    Ahh love lithium! I had a free trial when i bought my car and now that its up i miss it 😦 my pandora plays mostly smashin pumpkin, soundgarden, pearl jam, alice in chains, and nirvana. Love it! Your pups are too cute too!

  12. Tiffany says:

    Damn your pizza looks mighty fine! I’ve read a few blogs about the cauliflower pizza crust and I’m totally intrigued now. I think I would definitely go all out and add pepperoni or sausage (i love all things big) b/c its already healthy with the crust. Next time cauliflower is on sale, it’s on!!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

