The Weekend: Part 1 [Madame Tussaud’s Wax Museum]

Hey- look who I met this weekend!

That’s just me hanging out with Justin Timberlake. Just like any other Saturday…

I have a lot of photos to share. Seriously. A lot. I’m breaking my weekend activities up into two posts so that this one doesn’t go on forever (and trust me, I’m only posting about half of the photos that I took!).

Some time ago, I got an email from Groupon advertising a deal for Madame Tussaud’s Wax Museum in DC. It sounded like a lot of fun to me, so I instantly purchased two tickets and figured that I’d take a trip down there on a nice weather day. It turns out that Jenny bought the same deal too- so we planned on meeting up on St. Patrick’s Day to go to the museum, since her sister (Robin) and boyfriend (Zack) were going to be in town.

I was really excited to see the museum of course, but also to meet Jenny (and her girlfriend Sam)! It’s really cool to meet another blogger that you follow and feel like you’re already friends with. Even better- the weather was fantastic. I don’t remember it ever being so warm on St. Patrick’s Day! Greg and I put on our green and headed down to DC. And for the record- everyone else had the same idea- there were all kinds of things going on in the city that day (including the Rock ‘N Roll Marathon, a St. Paddy’s day parade, and a HUGE protest outside of the White House).

We met up with Jenny, Sam, Robin and Zack and headed into the museum. It was the first time any of us had been there, and didn’t really know what to expect. We began with the Hall of Presidents. There was a lot of silliness, laughter and lots of picture taking going on.

Hey- whatcha reading?

I had a nice conversation with John Adams.

Me and Jenny… just hanging out with some Presidents.

The shortest President.

Jenny and I both have a thing for Abe. Well, I just share my birthday with him, but her obsession goes way deeper.

Some of the wax figures were so realistic- it was really freaky. Like Harriet Tubman!

We met the Kennedys

I had an E.T. moment with Malcom X

Around the corner were a bunch of actors and musicians. Will Smith was just hanging out…

Greg and I posed with (a washed-out) Julia Roberts (Madonna’s in the back, to the right).

Greg does a good Tom Cruise impression!

I fit right in with my girls, J. Lo and Rhianna! (Check out J. Lo’s booty!!)

Greg tore up the dance floor with Beyonce

And then sat down to play some piano with Duke Ellington.

I had a good laugh with Sir Elton.

Oh, Britney…

We were all so happy to see Michael, all 3 of him!

There were a few sports figures, and Greg had to get a photo with Babe Ruth (and emphasize that he is a Red Sox fan).

There’s that Ovechkin smile!

We found a very skinny Oprah

And Sam gave Joan Rivers a nice little kiss.

The most realistic figure of them all? Captain Jack Sparrow.

Too realistic. Creepy! (Or sexy, depending on how you look at it. I’m a Johnny Depp girl!)

Jenny even got a wax hand made with a little help from the self-proclaimed “wax master.”

I think we all loved the museum- and we laughed the entire time. Now I want to see the other ones, because I think they’re all around the country (or world, even).

After that, we hit up one of Jenny + Sam’s favorite lunch/brunch spots, Le Pain Quotidien. I got a gorgeous salad (and some hummus- not pictured).

Greg got a turkey tartine (and open-faced sandwich) and an awesome mint lemonade (which tasted like a mojito).

Lunch was awesome! (And Jenny said that if any of us didn’t like it, we weren’t allowed to tell her anyway.) Good call, Jenny!

We parted ways after lunch and Greg and I took a long walk back to Dupont where we planned on getting some fro-yo. We were going to get it from Sweet Green, but stumbled upon Pinkberry first. And I’m so glad we did- check this out!

That’s a small half pomegranate/half salted caramel with pieces of dark chocolate, fresh strawberries and Cap’n Crunch!

I’m not glowing- I’m sweating. It was hot out.

Okay, maybe I was glowing. IT WAS SO GOOD.

GREG even got fro-yo too! Shocking!

We walked through Dupont towards the metro, and clearly everyone was enjoying this amazing day! I love days in DC like this!

We were definitely worn out and sweaty by the time we got back on the metro.

What an AWESOME morning + afternoon. Oh yeah, and I can check one more thing off the list!

The rest of the weekend will be reviewed shortly.

I need a break. πŸ™‚

13 Comments on “The Weekend: Part 1 [Madame Tussaud’s Wax Museum]”

  1. inmytummy says:

    Looks like fun. I was just with Tina from Best Body Fitness and we were talking about how neither of us has had Pinkberry before and we wondered if it was the best kind or just popular because it was one of the first.

  2. Jenny says:

    So fun! Great pics, I’ll be stealing some of those. Can’t wait for next weekend!

  3. Tiffany says:

    OMG I just typed a long comment and it deleted my comment, ugh.Ok so in it I was saying…..

    * Seeing what groupons are being offered is the best part of my morning
    * You and your friends are hilarious and looks like its worth a visit
    * Freaky how similar some of those look like the real people (Tubman and JFK especially!)

  4. […] The Weekend: Part 1 [Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum] […]

  5. I love that pic with you and Justin πŸ™‚ Those statues really ARE eerily real-looking!! What a fun day you had! And that fro-yo looks sooooooooo yummy!!
    -Kelly

  6. chimes says:

    It’s sad that I want to go to a wax museum just to get to see Michael.

    Also, the Captain Jack Sparrow is kind of creepy. And Tom Cruise looks like another Captain Jack in wax. http://images4.fanpop.com/image/photos/18100000/Captain-Jack-Harkness-torchwood-18156312-1707-2560.jpg

    • Lauren says:

      Okay, maybe I’m lame but I don’t know who that other Captain Jack is!
      Seeing Michael was the best surprise of the museum. Especially all three of him!

  7. Your weekend looks AWESOME. You guys look like you have so much fun together. Can’t wait until I get to join in on the bonding action! Are we still planning for this weekend?? πŸ˜€

  8. how far do you live from dc if you take the metro? Ive never been and have been dying to go for awhile!

    • Lauren says:

      I’m about 45 min to an hour from DC if I drive, but it can be a pain (and expensive) to park, so I usually take the metro. It’s about 30 min on the metro to get to the center of DC. You should TOTALLY visit. It’s an awesome city, and I’ve always taken it for granted!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

