Chop, chop!

Sorry for the dramatic suspenseful ending in the last post… what I did probably doesn’t seem like a big deal to you. But it was to me!

I got a haircut! A real one. Like, not just me with my scissors in the bathroom trimming the ends.

It might not look that short, but just for reference, this was what it looked like on Saturday:

(I didn’t want to post this yesterday because Greg was away for work and got in last night, and I didn’t tell him I was cutting it. His reaction: “Is your hair shorter?” Yup, that was it.)

So yeah, kind of a big deal for someone who never, ever gets her hair cut. In fact, the last major hair cut I had was in December 2008, and it looked like this:

For the record, that photo was taken right after my hair was chopped off. I was never able to get it to look that flat and straight again. 😦

I got my hair cut on Sunday at Bubbles salon in Frederick. I had never been there before and wanted to try something local that had Sunday hours. My former stylist, who is a genius, works in DC now. I’ve driven down there to see him once (the haircut in the photo above) but it’s just so far to go.. and expensive (over $100 before tip!). I had heard good things about Bubbles and really liked the prices- $35 a cut. Plus, the give a $5 discount for teachers (for the first visit). I make an appointment with any stylist in particular, and was assigned to Elizabeth. She was awesome- very knowledgeable and personable and gave me a lot of good tips! I also got a deep-conditioning treatment, which my hair desperately needed (from all of the coloring and blow-drying I put it through).

I didn’t have the guts to go quite as short as the photo above, but I’m working on it… it’s just hair after all, right? And really- what’s the big deal? Hair grows back! Alright, I think it is a big deal. So many women define themselves by their hair- and I think that’s perfectly fine (to a degree). It’s something that we care about- something that makes us feel pretty (or not so pretty some days) and when we have a “good hair day,” all seems right with the world!

I really want to cut mine way shorter at some point… like I said, I just haven’t worked up the courage yet. I want it to look like Laura’s– her hair is bad ass.

After I got my hair cut, I ran into Wegman’s to grab a few things. Every time I go there, I check to see if they have the coconut flavor of Siggi’s yet. Siggi’s Skyr is my absolute favorite yogurt ever. It’s like Greek yogurt but BETTER. I almost did a double take when I actually saw it on the shelf! But then I looked at the nutritional label:

200 calories?! Are you joking?? If it was 200 calories per cup, I might be able to get down with that. But no- it’s 200 calories for 5.3 ounces. The plain flavor (which I love) has 80 calories for the same 5.3 oz. Sadly, I did not buy the coconut flavor. I’d rather have a cup and a half of Breyer’s ice cream for the same amount of calories. Or a big smoothie. Or a beer.

I ran a few more errands, and made my way home and played with the dogs in the backyard. I was happy to see that the tulips along the side of our house were blooming!

Our flowering trees are rapidly becoming more naked- thanks to the rain on Saturday. 😦

I tried to get the boys to pose by holding a stick. Lance always makes the funniest faces.

See that look of focus and attention?

I love those guys.

**

So now it’s Tuesday and I have 4 more work days until spring break…

Today started off with me teaching my awesome early morning Spinning class and rushing to get to work on time. At least I had less hair to blow dry- it really did make a difference!

And I know my day is off to a good start when I have THIS for breakfast:

That’s right. Another nearly empty jar of nut butter with overnight oats! I am almost through all of the nearly empty jars in my fridge.

I also have good ol’ Trilogy.

I don’t have to worry about this flavor ever tasting nasty. πŸ™‚

What’s your opinion on getting your hair cut- are you weird about it (or attached to your hair)? Would you eat a container of the coconut Siggis?

 

 

19 Comments on “Chop, chop!”

  1. Your hair is adorable (both ways) but the shorter hair looks super chic.

    I’m really anal about a lot of things but pretty nonchalant about my hair. I’ve had every hair color under the sun (including orange in college which worked well during football season). The only thing I won’t do is cut my hair shorter than my shoulders when I’m heavier because I need my hair to balance out my round face.

    Fage is my favorite brand of Greek yogurt and I get a 12 pack at Costco (which I eat way too quickly).

  2. Good morning!

    I used to be the way you were with my hair, but lately I say that it’s just hair, so who cares?

    I recently cut off quite a bit and ended up not liking it, but like people say, it is just hair and is already growing back. No harm in trying something new, especially when it’s hair which is relatively low risk.

    I don’t like Greek yogurt, so no, I wouldn’t eat the container πŸ™‚ (even if it was 5 calories!)

  3. I Love LOVE LOVE your haircut!! The layers are so pretty, and it looks so sophisticated! I hate getting my hair cut, and do it like once a year when I’m finally at the point that I’m so annoyed with it, I just want it chopped off… and NOW. I’ve only gone really short once. It was cute, but hard to maintain. I had to KEEP going every 6 weeks or so to keep the style cute. For a once a year girl, that was a bit “high-maintenance.”

    Your tree in the backyard is beautiful. We have a crabapple tree in our backyard that is starting to flower, bright pink. I will have to take a pic soon πŸ™‚

    And I agree with Sarah – the Fage yogurt that comes in a 12pk at Costco is the BEST!!!!
    -Kelly

  4. Love the new haircut! Looks fabulous. I liked the short cut too β€” but I am with you on the straight and flat issue. My hair is curly / wavy and super thick. I used to think I could never pull off short hair for that reason, but I cut it short once, and now I can’t grow it back. I’m currently trying to, but it’s such a PITA to grow out since it’s unruly when it can’t be pinned back that all I have been wanting to do for the last several weeks is CHOP.

    I change my hair so often that I even have an entire section on my blog dedicated to it: http://www.chimesdesign.com/blog/category/design/fashion/hair/

    My hair was the same from the time I was in 8th grade (and realized I could add a bit of product and scrunch it to make it curly) until January 2009. I’d colored it a few times in there … even had pink streaks … but everything was always mostly my natural color.

    Anyway … love the hair! And I know what a big deal it is to get a cut. I only allow two people to touch my hair and one is now questionable.

  5. Nikki says:

    I was super pumped to see another Siggi’s flavor at my store, but also bailed when I saw the nutrition stats. Besides the plain flavor, the orange and ginger flavor is amazing and has far far far fewer calories and fat, so I’ve stuck to that. Besides, a friend of mine did try the coconut flavor, and she said it tasted weird–not really like coconut anyway.
    PS-Your hair looks so cute in that bob–I say cut it shorter!!!

  6. Gil says:

    Yes!! Love the short! And it will feel so much lighter for summer! Mine is getting “long”, but I recently got a bunch of razoring so it feels like less.
    A really good flat iron is the only way I can get mine super sleek and straight and shiny–and its one beauty product I never skimp on, since they last years and I use it all the time. I vividly remember the first time I used one (age 16) and thought it was like magic! (I’d had it straightened before, but it still didnt compare.) I just kept staring at my hair in awe and thinking “I had no idea my hair could ever look like this!”

  7. shrinkinggretch says:

    Your hair looks fantastic! So healthy, and it must feel so freeing!

  8. LOVE the cut!! I have had it all ways–long, short, medium, and I like it best semi-medium/long. Short looks funny on my face shape I’ve decided.

    LOVE your dogs!!

  9. Corrie Anne says:

    No WAY would I eat that. I always think that when I super high cal yogurt. I’d go for fro-yo!! I never really cut my hair. In 27 years, I’ve never been one to style my hair. So it’s really best to leave it long & curly. I love your super short cut you had a while ago, but I like it long too! Your dogs AND SPRING are so gorgeous!! πŸ™‚

  10. janetha says:

    i love those guys, too. and your hair is gorg at any length!

  11. Your hair looks great and the boys look wonderful. πŸ™‚

    I’m very attached to my hair. I cut it short once and loved it, but it didn’t last long!

  12. cottercrunch says:

    favorite flavor ever!!! and now i want to chop my hair

  13. Love your hair!
    I just tried coconut milk for the first time and wasn’t a fan so the yogurt would be a real no-go!

  14. Your hair looks SO cute!!!!
    200 calories for yogurt?! Maybe if I ran a marathon that day…

  15. Jenny says:

    It looks so good! It’s also dangerous to my current attempt to grow mine out. Whenever I see someone with a new haircut I want to run to the nearest salon!

  16. Lee says:

    Your hair looks great.

    I don’t have a problem cutting my hair, but with curly hair, I feel like it’s hard for me to actually have a style to it. I’ve had it pretty short and it doesn’t look very good.

    I would probably buy the yogurt once just to see what it tasted like, but not on a regular basis. There’s a local yogurt, Atlanta Fresh Yogurt, that has whole, 2% and non-fat flavors and I bought a whole milk one just to see if it tasted better. It tasted the exact same as the 2% or even the nonfat really.

  17. I LOVE your hair!!!!! It’s so pretty and you can still pull it back. That is my one wish… but thanks for the super-short hair shout out. πŸ™‚

  18. siggi’s soooo thick! Not everyone can stomach it…at 200 calories, at least it’s semi better than a snickers? BTW Love that you teach classes and have a regular job but how to read blogs at work?


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

