Airport stuff

The flight from Logan airport in Boston to BWI (Baltimore) is surprisingly short. I almost always forget just how short it is- right around an hour! We got to the airport around 8:15 yesterday to catch a 9:30 flight. But, we were up before 6 am in order to get to the airport on time. I’m not a big fan of airplane travel, but unfortunately, it’s usually the quickest option. It’s not flying that I don’t like, I’m actually fine with that. It’s all of the hassle to get to the airport early, get through security, rush to be early, only to find out that your flight is delayed. Greg and I actually have horrible luck with this- we’ve even had to sleep at the airport before, which was probably the most miserable night of my life. But, that’s another story for another time.

We got to the airport really fast yesterday and breezed through security. There was literally no one in line at our gate! Awesome!

Since we were in Boston, I had to play the part and get a typical Boston-ite breakfast.

Come on, people- you should know me well enough by now. Do you really think that I would have a doughnut for breakfast? Not in a million years. This was Greg’s.

Greg’s a big fan of Dunkin’ Donuts… I guess that’s the New Englander in him. Truth be told, doughnuts do absolutely nothing for me. I would pretty much choose anything else for breakfast- healthy or not. I think doughnuts are a waste, because they’re usually gone in about 4 bites and full of nothing that makes me feel good. If I was ever to eat one, it would probably be for dessert.

My breakfast was much more satisfying!

I asked for a cup of hot water at Cosi and mixed in one of my oatmeal-to-go bags that I made before we left our house on Saturday. I added in a banana and some Barney butter, and it was perfect! The Cosi at the airport actually had an oatmeal bar, which was very cool, but the oatmeal itself looked a little gross. Nothing better than getting to eat my breakfast while catching up on blogs! Thanks airport WiFi!

I actually didn’t get too far into my blog reading, because of this distraction:

Greg and I are totally lame awesome. We play against each other right when we’re sitting side by side. Here’s my hair gel drawing for him:

And his “Horton.” I thought this was pretty cute!

We eventually boarded the plane, and I reached for the goods:

YES!

Even better, our flight was only about half full, so we had a whole row to ourselves.

Right after I took this photo, the captain announced that something had to be checked on the engine, and it would be another 10-15 minutes before we took off. That turned into about 45, but Greg and I weren’t complaining because we had WiFi and iPads to keep us entertained. Ahh, technology…

We made it home safe and sound, and were THRILLED to see our pups. We always miss them so much. šŸ™‚

Just wondering- do you find that you eat more when you travel? Not like, do you eat more on vacation because you’re at restaurants, but like, on the plane, in the car, etc.? I find that I am always hungry when traveling. I don’t know if it’s boredom or having your food be the only thing you can control or what, but I snack like crazy! I was actually good about it yesterday, because the oatmeal was filling and the flight was short, but in general I’m just waiting for the next meal!

 

27 Comments on “Airport stuff”

  1. I’ve never been a fan of doughnuts, I’d much rather have oatmeal!

    I’m always snacky on car trips but I hate feeling full on airplanes. Mainly because flying can make me nauseaous.

    Glad the puppies are safe and sound!

  2. ashleyackerley says:

    You are so adorable!! I was like, “Hey! That’s my blog”. Lol.

    I do think I eat more when I travel because I’m not thinking… I’m just enjoying the world and the people around me.

    • Lauren says:

      Your blog is usually the first one I read each day. šŸ™‚

      I’m the same- I don’t think about calories and consequences. I also always eat ice cream when I’m on vacation, because I never eat it at home!

  3. artificiallybalanced says:

    Yes, I am soooo snacky on trips! At least once a month I take a bus upstate to visit my parents and it’s a 3.5 hour trip.. because of my work schedule now I always have to leave really late at night or super early in the morning so I just sleep, but before I would be wanting to eat the entire trip even if I ate before hand. Also being anywhere new or where I don’t live makes me feel like I need to “try” restaurants and order whatever I want because I dont live there.. even if its normal food! haha

    • Lauren says:

      Yup- if I eat beforehand, I just end up eating double, too! And I feel the need to try out anything new too- I totally get it. šŸ™‚

  4. Gretchen @ Honey, I Shrunk the Gretchen! says:

    Gwahahaha, DRAW SOMETHING! Now that I know you’re a fiend as well… it’s your turn! šŸ˜‰

  5. Gil says:

    I never eat doughnuts for breakfast, but I do periodically crave a really legit bakery doughnut for dessert. This place–> http://www.doughnutplant.com/ in NYC is the BEST…such delicious flavors and real ingredients. Yum! Doughnuts like that might even supplant cake in my Dessert Preference Hierarchy šŸ™‚
    Airplanes always make me snacky….and then afterwards I feel all out of sorts, foodwise.

  6. You completely fooled me with that doughnut! LOL!

    I do snack more while traveling – with my job I never really know when we’ll get to eat so I am the travel-snack-food queen.

    • Lauren says:

      Yup, I’m a big planner when it comes to being prepared with food. I hate being overly hungry and stuck with no options, so I always have at least a bar or nuts and fruit or something like that with me.

  7. Lee says:

    I’m not a big donut fan either. I didn’t know that Dunkin Donuts was a New England thing. We have them here in GA (and in Maryland for that matter.)

    • Lauren says:

      We have Dunkin here (actually one right by our house) but in Boston and surrounding areas they are literally every few hundred feet. And Greg likes the fact that he can order a “coffee regular” and they know that means cream and sugar. Down here they think that means “black.”

  8. I absolutely eat more when traveling! I have to constant time my snacks. Like wait 2 more hours before you eat again. I’m glad its not just me. I travel with enough food to feed a small village.
    I love that you got excited about skymall mag. My bf and I immediately grab it on the plane. We looove all the ridiculous stuff in it.

    • Lauren says:

      I could snack the entire flight when I’m traveling and not even know. And for some reason, food just does not seem to fill me up. I swear it’s a mental thing.
      Skymall rules- I always laugh at the photos with the dog stuff.

  9. Tiffany says:

    Um, I love donuts. So much that I feel like even when I drive by a donut shop I gain weight, sigh.

    I’m the opposite of you-I love going to the airport early and people watching.relaxing! I usually get there four hours ahead of time since I’m weird like that.

    And I would kill for some DD right now, we dont have any here šŸ˜¦

  10. chimes says:

    ahhh. that donut makes me miss gluten so much. i work at a university and our students have events like once a week in which they have donuts. and the leftovers are in my office. and i’m sad. what i would do for an apple fritter.

  11. Poor greg…does he mind being photographed? hahahah! BTW don’t hate on donuts, they are a yummy but fatty treat that you must have after a night out! Anyways, I’m always “hungry” at the airport but it’s cause I’m bored. And I f*cking HATE the travel process. I hate parking at the airport, lugging my sh*t around, and watching people walk SOOO slowly everywhere!!! I hate it!!

    • Lauren says:

      Greg is a good sport. He doesn’t even bat an eye when I take his photo anymore.
      I f*cking hate all of the sh*t that you said, too!
      And I don’t hate on doughnuts- I would just never have one for breakfast. It wouldn’t be enough to fill me, and I’d end up eating a bowl of oatmeal or something in addition to it. If I had one, it would definitely be dessert!

  12. I love donuts, but only Krispy Kreme and those don’t seem to be so popular in New England. Booo on that.

    I used to love flying, but with all the regulations and security it isn’t nearly as much fun. There is something so fun about getting off the plane and having family waiting for you! Now I just have to wait on the curb till they drive up and I jump awkwardly into the car.

    Next Boston trip…we meet!

    • Lauren says:

      There are a few Krispy Kremes around here… I think. I’ve never actually been to one, but I have had one of their glazed doughnuts, and they are pretty good.

      I agree about what you said- it was so cool when your family was there at the gate! It’s not the same at baggage claim.

      And YES DEFINITELY. We’ll most likely be up in August!

  13. Corrie Anne says:

    I always want to eat constantly when traveling. I hate sitting still in planes or cars. It makes me want to MUCH!!! I’d never eat a donut for breakfast either. Sick. Lol. I don’t really like them either, and it’s just so sugary for so early!!! I love having the row to oruselves on the airplane!! I bet you missed your dogs!! Awwa!

    • Lauren says:

      Yeah, my next plane trip is to Colorado (Holla!!!) for Blend!!!! But that’s a long flight- lots of snacking will take place (and maybe even dinner).

  14. lgsmash says:

    i have to say that air travel (any travel, really!) is my FAVORITE! i love the airport, the hustle and bustle, the logistics of it all, how an ENTIRE airport runs. all of it!

    i eat a lot while traveling – i think it’s because i’m not on my normal routine! so i snack more often. and then, of course, i HAVE to eat the local favorites. lots of eating šŸ™‚


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

