This Is Where I Might Lose Some Of You…

Just like the title of this post says, this is where I might lose some of you. If you don’t care about baseball or going to baseball games, you might want to just skip this one. πŸ™‚

You may or may not know that I am a little bit of a Red Sox fan. Well, honestly, I’m a die-hard member of Red Sox nation! It’s something that you’re born into or (in my case) married into. I’ll give you a little history here to catch you up to speed. Pro sports were never something that I cared much about. In college, I became a Ravens fan due to the fact that I lived in Baltimore and got into them the year that they won the Superbowl. I’ve been a fan ever since, and have gone to many games and love to support my team during football season. However, my love for baseball and the Red Sox is far more intense than it is for football and the Ravens.

I went to baseball games often when I was growing up. My dad liked to take me to Memorial Stadium and later to Camden Yards to see the Orioles play. This was back in the Cal Ripken era, when the O’s had a pretty exciting team. I was never really into the game though- I just liked going for the atmosphere and the food. I’d usually get really bored by the 5th inning or so and want to go home. In college, some of my friends and were lemonade girls at Camden Yards, which was really fun, but we never paid attention to the game (unless Brady Anderson was at bat- then we paid attention). Fast forward to 2007 when I met Greg. Shortly after we started dating, we took a trip to Boston with a big group of friends. During that trip, Greg took me to a Red Sox game at Fenway Park. It was pretty much love at first sight- I was totally in love with this team! I got to know all of the players and we saw games when they would come to Baltimore and also fly up to Boston for a few each year. I have to admit- it was pretty easy to turn into a Sox fan in 2007, because they won the World Series (and yes, we watched every single game).

The Red Sox may not have been playing quite as well for the last year or two, but my love and loyalty for them is just something kind of special that Greg and I share. Many of my friends thinks it’s nuts or that baseball is totally boring, but I love it. I get so excited when the season starts up each spring, which is what is going on right now!

We found out a couple of months ago that the Red Sox would be playing their last spring training game against the Nationals in DC. Of course, Greg and I jumped on those tickets right away! We also got 2 tickets for my friend Megan, who was born into Red Sox nation, and her nephew Hunter. I know that the game didn’t “count” for anything, but it was still cool to see them play in DC, regardless. (They are in different leagues and don’t play against each other in the regular season, except for an interleague game every few years.)

Nats Park is pretty new, and a really nice stadium in general. Although the team is pretty lousy, they have a nice fan base, which is always nice to see. However, as it is with any Red Sox game I’ve ever been to around the country, there seemed to be more Sox fans than there were for the home team. The Nationals have a mascot named “Screech” – a bald eagle. They also have four additional mascots: George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Abe Lincoln and Teddy Roosevelt. These guys are the BEST. I immediately spotted Jefferson when we got into the park (how could you miss that big head?) and posed for a photo.

I was wearing my Dustin Pedroia jersey yesterday, which is one of about 100 Red Sox jerseys, shirts and sweatshirts that I own (which borders on being ridiculous).

I also like to accessorize for games with earrings

my “Believe in the Nation” wristband

and my favorite, my bling blingΒ necklace.

I bet you’re impressed by how awesome I am, huh?

The weather was absolutely perfect- sunny and warm, but not too hot. Sitting in the sun baking during a game can be pretty miserable, and I’ve done that for many summer games.

We went and got some food before the game started. Nationals Park has pretty decent options as far as ballparks go, and some local restaurants are represented. I decided on a black-bean veggie burger that was actually pretty decent, and was supposedly made “in-house.”

The bun completely fell apart (which was stale and tasteless anyway), but the guy gave me extra lettuce and tomato, so I can’t complain.

Greg got a bratwurst, fully loaded with peppers, onions and sauerkraut

The thing that made us happiest of all? Sam Adams Summer Ale on tap!

The game was actually really great- the Red Sox were way ahead in the beginning, and then the Nats came back to tie it up. It’s always more fun when it’s close!

There’s my favorite player, Kevin Youkilis. When he comes up to bat everyone yells “Yoooooooouuuuuk.” Many people that haven’t seen the Sox play live mistake this chant as booing.

My absolute favorite part of any Nationals home game is hands down, the Racing Presidents.

It’s totally predictable and cheesy but I LOVE IT.

George was the winner today- and you can see that Teddy got distracted by a juggler. πŸ™‚

I always, always root for Abe. πŸ™‚

The Red Sox ended up winning by one point, and it was a really exciting ending to the game. We had a great time, and it was wonderful to hang out with my friend Megan.
Baseball is BACK IN SEASON, my friends.

Are you a sports nut? Who’s your favorite team? Do you like going to games even if you’re not “into” sports?

26 Comments on “This Is Where I Might Lose Some Of You…”

  1. This is so awesome! I’m a huge sports fan, but was never really able to get into baseball. I married into a hockey family (my husband has three cousins who play in the NHL) and love the Chicago Blackhawks! I grew up in Indiana and it’s a requirement here to love college basketball, so that I do (go Hoosiers!) and I also grew up LOVING open-wheel racing. I’ve been to 16 Indianapolis 500s. I went to my first one when I was 11. πŸ™‚ I also grew to be a football can thanks to likes of my beloved Peyton Manning, but with him gone, my football-watching days might be numbered.

    I’d LOVE to get into baseball. It’s just so….American. But I really like faster-paced sports, and it’s hard for me to get into the games when they are low key.

    • Lauren says:

      YES! That is so awesome that your family is in the NHL!!
      I think baseball is actually really fascinating. There is so much that I didn’t know about it until I cared enough to learn. And it helps if you really love the players on the team.
      I know what you mean about faster-paced sports though- that’s why I like to watch hockey!

  2. There are 2 teams you are born into. The Yankees and the Red Sox. I was born into the Yankees. My mom was a lifetime New Yorker and was fanatical about her Yankees (football Giants too). Out of her 3 children, I, the only girl got the baseball bug. I love the begining of baseball season. I buy the MLB extra innings package every year so I can watch the games (Im in Atl). I went to one of the last games of the season last year, Yankees vs. Rays. It was awesome b/c the Rays were trying to make the playoffs after that huge comeback (sorry) so there was a lot of excitement!

    I can’t wait until Friday!

    • Lauren says:

      Glad you can relate! I always say that I can’t hate on Yankees fans, because they have the same passion that I do. They just happen to root for the wrong team. πŸ™‚

  3. Gil says:

    Im not a baseball fan, but I totally identify with your sports “love at first sight”. I was 14 the first time I ever saw fencing, and I KNEW I was hooked. I started lessons immediately, and within a year I was dragging my parents all around the tri-state area to any state competition I could qualify for. Love! No other sport has ever given me such a rush, and it totally changed my highschool/college life. And my outlook on sports in general…
    Also the company is not half bad πŸ™‚ http://www.flickr.com/photos/mikedotephoto/6945939959/lightbox/ Support the campaign to promote fencers as athletes, not geeks!

  4. NancyO says:

    yup. totally skimmed over this posting. πŸ™‚

    Signed,
    A Phillies Phanatic

  5. Totally a Red Sox fan! I used to live right down the road from the park, but I just moved 😦 def going to have to make it back soon for a Fenway frank!

  6. Looks like a beautiful day for the ballpark!
    Whenever I see the Nationals W, I think it looks like the W in Walgreens!

    I used to live “one beer walking distance” from Miller Park in Milwaukee (you could drink one beer during the walk), so even though I’m not a huge baseball fan, there was no excuse to not go to games!

  7. Dawn Fulsom says:

    I am from St. Louis so, of course, we LOVE baseball! We were the losers the year your Red Sox team won the world series. Even though we lost, I thought it was great to see so many passionate fans finally get the world series win.
    Tonight is the Cardinals first game in Miami. Next Friday is our home opener at Busch Stadium. EVERYONE will be wearing red around town & there is a huge pep rally downtown. We are also playing our longtime rivals the Chicago Cubs. We have tickets for Sunday’s game.
    Both my boys play baseball also. One year we had so much flooding that they considered cancelling the baseball season for the kids. My husband & I were so upset. The ball fields are where we spend 3 or 4 nights a week – its our social life πŸ™‚
    Enjoy your team & your season. Go Cards!

    • Lauren says:

      That’s so cool that your boys play baseball! I hope to have that in my future.
      Opening day is so exciting! I’ve never been to a Red Sox home opener, but I have for the Orioles. It’s like Christmas!

  8. ashleyackerley says:

    So fun! Can’t wait to go to a game together.

  9. I also really love baseball. However I am a huge Cincinnati Reds Fan.. but I know what it is like to live in a town where everyone else is a fan of someone else. I live in Cubs/White Sox Country.

    • Lauren says:

      I’m going to Chicago in June to see the Red Sox play. And we’re staying for an extra day to see the White Sox/Cubs game too! I can’t wait- I’ve never been to Chicago!

  10. lgsmash says:

    i love your dedication! baseball isn’t my sport – i really enjoy GOING to baseball games but i don’t really follow baseball. your earrings and necklace are super cute!

    • Lauren says:

      You have the best ballpark- Coors field is awesome! And they definitely have the best beer selection of any ballpark I’ve been to!
      We’ll be going to a game in July out there- I might try to make you go!

  11. Hurray for baseball season!!! We’re kicking off the Milwaukee Brewers home opener with a little tailgate/game viewing party at our house on Friday afternoon and we’re spending Easter Sunday at the best ballpark in the league…Miller Park!!!
    No team rivalry though, I can appreciate a Sox fan, especially since we’re in different leauges. πŸ˜‰

  12. Parita says:

    OMG this post reminded me of when Vishnu and I went to a Red Sox game a few years back. The audience started yelling and we thought people were saying “booo.” We were so confused because a Red Sox player was up to bat. Vishnu texted his friend and he replied back saying, “They’re yelling Yuuuuuk not Boooooo.” I almost died laughing where poor Vishnu almost died of embarrassment. Ha!

  13. Emily says:

    Awww man! I cannot believe I missed a Nats v. Sox match up! I try to catch the games on the rare occasion that the Red Sox are actually in DC. I am a born and raised New England girl with Red Sox blood running through my veins!

    Thank God Baseball Season is finally here!

    • Lauren says:

      I’ve seen the Red Sox in DC 3 times now! 2 were spring training games though. I’m sure they’ll come back again… just keep your eye on the schedule next year!
      Hooray for baseball! Hope the Sox pick it UP!

  14. Uhhhhh I’ll still go to games but I don’t “get” sports…except maybe basketball..that is fun.


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

