April morning walk

There are so many things that I love about having a day (or a week) off of work, but one of them is definitely being able to take one of my dogs out for a long walk in the morning. At 8:00, Jackson and I set out for a 5 mile walk around the neighborhood.

I snapped off a bunch of photos with my Droid’s camera (which sucks) because everything is colorful and pretty!

The trees are all so beautiful!

Flowers are everywhere!

There’s even a few daffodils still hanging on

Jackson at the top of the big hill (where I always have to get a photo of him posing)

We have these growing on the side of our house:

And our tulips in the front of the house have finally bloomed!

One other great thing about being off from work? Getting to make breakfast at home- in the Vitamix. πŸ™‚

I’m off to spend the day with my friend April. We’re meeting up at the college that we graduated from (for undergrad)- I haven’t been in years and it will be so fun to see how the campus has changed (and remind me of how old I am…)

Have a great day!

What do you like to do on your day off?

18 Comments on “April morning walk”

  1. I like to get in a longer workout, sit on the couch and sip an espresso drink or tea, and read a book. Now I can’t think of the last time I actually lounged around reading a book – but it’s what I’d like to do! πŸ™‚

    • Lauren says:

      I can’t remember the last time I did that either! Sometimes I get to sit in the tub and soak… and then I usually read a book. πŸ™‚

  2. Enjoy your day (and week)!

    With a day off I love to clean my apartment, drink coffee, workout, watch Ellen, and go shopping!

  3. kostandinos says:

    Great pics! Enjoy your day! πŸ™‚

    What’s the recipe in your Vitamix?

    BTW, I was going to write to ask your favorite supplements and/or supplement brands. I’m looking at spirulina to add to my juice and smoothies and want to be a bit pickier about the powder. Would be cool to see a run down of your must-haves and any supplements you might use.

    Off to Willow’s first vet visit in a few hours!

    • Lauren says:

      In that vitamix… let me see… it was probably 1 scoop of Vega Vanilla Chai Health Optimizer (a vegan protein powder), 6 or 7 ice cubes, 1/3 a frozen banana, a handful of frozen blueberries, a handful of frozen spinach, water, and a pinch of guar and xantham gums (to thicken and make it an awesome consistency). That particular protein powder is the best tasting, ever. Hands down. I can’t remember if it has spirulina in it…. it might!
      Check out this post: http://oatmealafterspinning.com/2012/03/02/supplements-iherb-cleanse-diets/
      Read the WHOLE THING. πŸ™‚

  4. Corrie Anne says:

    Yay spring! And Yay puppies! I always like to do an extra long workout and then bake on my days off. And probably talk to my mom since I have a hard time squeezing that in!! πŸ™‚

  5. nssweetlife says:

    I love all the spring-y photos! I like to be leisurely on my day(s) off. Slow down, not rush as much, make a healthy hearty breakfast… and then do:
    1) something unusual that I enjoy but don’t ever have time to do
    2) something productive to help me get caught up
    3) something FUN with Babycakes and the hubby.

    Enjoy your day!
    -Kelly

  6. Gil says:

    I love Jackson’s purple harness.
    I usually have a morning cleaning extravaganza when I have the day off–it makes me feel so productive, and a super clean house puts me in such a better mood when I do have to go back and face the daily grind.

  7. melanie says:

    Do you only usually take one pup out at a time when you are alone? The other one must get jealous!!:)

    • Lauren says:

      Yeah- I can only handle one at a time! And I only ever take them out when my husband is home (and he works from home). The other one gets my husband’s attention all to himself, so it works out. πŸ™‚

  8. Lili says:

    thats so funny, this is exactly what I get excited about as well on my days off! Love to go on a long walk w/ my 2 dogs around my neighborhood and I end up snapping some pics of the tress and flowers too during Fall and Spring, when they just look AMAZING!

    I also love to make breakfast at home and savor it w/ no rush!

  9. Lee says:

    What kind of leash/harness do you use with him? I hate taking Murphy on long walks because it takes absolutely FOREVER because he has to sniff every single thing. I don’t want to pull on his neck though since he’s just in a regular collar and leash.

    • Lauren says:

      We use a gentle leader harness. I love it! When they were puppies, they wore the other kind of Gentle leader (that went around the snout) but we got this kind as they grew. I really like it because it doesn’t pull up on their back.

  10. Michelle says:

    I’m definitely jealous of your flowers and green grass! As you probably saw, there is still a crap-load of snow on the ground here! 😦

    On my days off, I like to sleep in until oh you know, until 7 a.m. if I’m lucky, go for a run, make breakfast, take my time getting ready, and then read blogs, make dinner for my husband, and spend time with him in the evening as well. Nothing fancy.

    • Lauren says:

      Sleeping in til 7 is the BEST! I love getting to do that all summer long (well except on Tuesdays when I teach early spin!). My days off sound just like yours. And BOY do I need to catch up on blog reading!

  11. I love taking walks…it’s not challenging at all but it really helps clear my mind!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

