Quick Low-Carb/High-Protein “Pancakes”

Happy Thursday everyone! My stress level is definitely at an all-time high today as we prepare for our big student art show here tonight at my work. We spend all year preparing, but most of the details can’t be done until a few days before the show. I’ve spent most of the day moving large panels and running all over the school, directing kids, and somehow still teaching my classes. I’ll be at school until 7 tonight (love those 12 hour days!) and then will breathe a huge sigh of relief tomorrow afternoon when the show is all taken down and it’s done.

I’m also stressing a little bit about being prepared (job wise) to leave for Colorado next week. I have to have four days of sub plans ready, which is no easy task. I’m also trying to get caught up on all of my grading, so that I don’t come back to a huge mess after I return from my trip. (I’ll already be depressed about having to leave Colorado- and a mountain of work that needs to be graded is not the type of mountain I want to see!).

Anyway- I know it will all work out and by this time next week, I won’t even be thinking about my job and all of this stress.

On a happier note, I taught Spin + Bodypump after work yesterday, which always makes me feel better. The Bodypump class was packed! It was also my first time teaching the entire new release (since we each taught half for the launch) and I think I ROCKED IT. I just feel SO good teaching my exercise classes- I can’t get enough!

Wow, I feel just a little bit better having just typed how happy teaching exercise classes makes me. 🙂

So. I want to share a quick little recipe that I’ve been enjoying lately either after a workout or as a late afternoon snack. When I was doing yoga after work on Monday, I was thinking about what I wanted to eat afterwards (I know that you are supposed to be “in the present” when practicing yoga, but I can’t help if I have fleeting thoughts about food :)). I thought about what I could throw together quickly that would be packed with protein, that wasn’t my normal smoothie or Greek yogurt. And then I remembered a little protein pancake that I made a couple of months ago.

I modified the recipe a little bit, and came up with this:

Yup. It’s not pretty- even Instagram couldn’t make this pancake look beautiful. But trust me, it tasted good.

Blueberry Super-Protein Pancake

1/4 c 1% no salt added cottage cheese

1/4 c liquid egg whites

1.5 T vanilla protein powder

1/2 tsp baking powder

a few blueberries (I used wild frozen ones from TJs)

a dash of salt

Stevia, to taste (optional)

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Place a skillet over medium heat and pour batter. Cook for 5 minutes on one side (or until edges start to turn golden brown) and flip. Cook for an additional 3 minutes on the other side.

This pancake had 105 calories, 1 g fat, 4 g carbs and 19 g protein.

One thing I love about this pancake is how the cottage cheese melts in the middle. It becomes kind of stretchy, and I really love that. Since I liked this pancake so much on Monday, I decided to make another variation on Tuesday!

I call this onePeanut butter and Jelly protein pancake. It uses peanut flour for protein and heated strawberries as the “jelly.”

PB+J Super-Protein Pancake

1/4 c 1% no salt added cottage cheese

1/4 c liquid egg whites

1.5 T peanut flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

a dash of salt

Stevia, to taste (optional)

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Place a skillet over medium heat and pour batter. Cook for 5 minutes on one side (or until edges start to turn golden brown) and flip. Cook for an additional 3 minutes on the other side. Top with “pb + j”(recipe to follow).

PB + J topping

1 heaping T peanut flour

about 1/2 T water

a few drops of liquid vanilla stevia

a dash of salt

2 strawberries, cut into quarters

Mix all of the ingredients together (except the strawberries) in a small bowl. Add more water for a thinner consistency as desired. Pour over pancake. Microwave or heat strawberries into a skillet until the become soft. Mash with a fork and spread on top of the peanut flour sauce.

**

On to tackle the rest of the day….

Do you have any good “quick” high protein recipes that you enjoy?


12 Comments on “Quick Low-Carb/High-Protein “Pancakes””

  1. You’re almost done! I’m glad you get such a boost from teaching exercise classes 🙂 Such a healthy high.

    Both of those protein pancakes sound delicious. I don’t really use protein powder but I might have to pick up some to make these pancakes.

  2. I hope today is fantastic and goes by quickly. Mucho Love!

  3. chimes says:

    yesssssssssssss. thank you for sharing! I’ve been drooling over your pix of these on instagram.

  4. The protein pancakes sound delicious, they will be great after my morning workout!

  5. I looovvveee protein pancakes! On the agenda for this weekend is to come up with some super high (yummy) tasting ones. This sounds delicious! GOOD LUCK today!!

  6. I love your description of that cottage cheese getting stretchy. I just had lunch, but now I want a pancake.

  7. 1) 2 fried eggs with warmed black beans
    2) protein powder mixed with almond butter, oats, and a bit of honey!

  8. I hope your art show goes wonderfully!! AND I hope you post up lots of pics 🙂

  9. Good luck with the show!
    That pancake looks like it could even be something to take on-the-go!

  10. Mmmm, those look really good. I’m going to try blueberries in my next protein pancake!

  11. Corrie Anne says:

    Those pancakes actually do look really good. I always try to use instagram to make ugly food look better too!! hehe


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)